Have I Ever Told you About the Time I tried To walk From Ann Arbor To Chicago (Part Three)

13 May

I woke up in a seedy little room in the only motel in Sturgis Michigan around 7, 8 in the morning, I don’t know.  I lingered around my room for some time, listening to the weather reports, which is actually something i almost never do.  It was predicted, by all accounts, that it was going to rain all day.  Luckily I was prepared for this, having bought a 2 dollar plastic poncho at the beginning of my journey,  the wearing of which made me look something like a giant hefty bag with legs.

196There wasn’t really anything I could do about this of course so I checked out of my room and headed down the road.  About ten minutes later I realized I had left behind only one thing: my water bottle; arguably the most important piece of equipment I had, so I went back and got it.  (Just starting my day and already several minutes wasted.)  It didn’t take me long to get out of Sturgis and into the winding countryside of US 12.  One thing I’ve not mentioned yet is this: All the way up to and including Coldwater I had been hoofing it through an area I was pretty familiar with, it having been my stomping grounds all through childhood.  Now however, I was in a stretch of road I’d only been down a couple times, and never on foot.  Now I truly felt like a pioneer.  Lewis and Clark eat your hearts out.  (I use that cliche a lot.)

191

I was actually leaving Sturgis when I took this picture, but whatever.

For the first couple hours, walking through the overcast drizzle was actually kind of a nice change from the bright hot sun beating down on my back.   I might even go so far as to say it bordered on pleasant and invigorating.  Not only that, beyond Coldwater the traffic was substantially lighter and the scenery from this point on was more scenic.  (Rustic even!)

194

The best part of the day came when I found several bags of cocaine that somebody had misplaced on the side of the road!  (I was a tad worried about running into Tony Montana and his “leetle friend” even way out here in the sticks, but can you imagine the street value!?!)

197

Now that I was on my own again, I simply trucked along and listened to the tunes on my ipod.  Another thing I failed to mention earlier is that on day one I simply let all the songs on my ipod start playing in alphabetical order.  I was now into the D’s, if memory serves correctly.  (I had listened to no music at all when I was walking with Ben, of course, as that would have probably been rude.)

After a few hours, I found myself in a little town called White Pigeon, where I stopped in a little diner called Rachel’s for a burger and fries.

203201

At this point I was already getting a little sore, and also beginning to wonder exactly how this day was going to pan out.  Due to a small oversight, I had failed to consider the significance of the fact that the next hotel stop was actually about 42 miles from Sturgis.  Even for me, that’s a LONG ass haul, especially after having walked all day for most of the past couple of days.

210

So I forged ahead.

215

Through a tiny little town called Mottville, where they had an awesome bridge, which of course I had to cross.

216

218

Apparently it is the longest “Camelback Bridge” in all of Michigan!  And to think I never would have known this had I not decided to walk to Chicago!

By this time it was already 3 in the afternoon.  By my most liberal estimates, if I just kept trucking along, I would arrive in Niles somewhere around 2 in the morning.  This was not a very heartwarming prospect.

So I kept on keeping on.

224

And eventually decided, after much deliberation, that I would once again break from US 12 and head south into someplace called Elkhardt Indiana.  This would take me about 7 miles away from US 12, but would mean I could be in a hotel before nightfall, which sounded good.  I passed through another little hamlet which, for some reason I didn’t take any pictures of!  And then I came to a southbound road that would lead me into Elkhardt.  By 6 pm (ish) I was crossing the state line.

241

I’m 100% certain that was the first time I ever walked all the way out of the state of Michigan.  It was a pretty momentous occasion, though I was somewhat disappointed by the lack of reporters and camera crews available to chronicle my landmark moment, so I once again took a picture of myself.

From there it was a still a few more agonizing miles before I arrived on the outskirts of Elkhardt.  I stopped into the first dining/drinking establishment I encountered.  Walking through the cold rain all day had really gotten to me.  My muscles were hurting,  I was chilled to the bone, and quite literally worn the fuck out.  I plopped down at a little table and ate a steak dinner.  After that I ordered, and consumed, in quick succession,  three gin and tonics.  I didn’t give a damn how much it was going to cost, but I estimated it would be around 40 dollars.  Had I still been in Michigan, my guess probably would have been accurate.  I greatly underestimated Indiana,  or should I say overestimated.  My bill was about 21 bucks.  Therefore I sat and ordered, and drank, three more gin n tonics!  I also became quite friendly with the wait staff, who I once again regaled with the exciting tale of my adventures.  (It was surprising how many people actually thought what I was doing sounded like fun.

244

243

They seemed impressed.  The blonde girl on my right, it turned out, actually resided in Sturgis, and commuted to work every day.  She was blown away by the fact that I had walked this distance and, (true story) gave me her phone number!  (Which, of course, I lost, also true story, not to mention typical.)

I was assured that a hotel would be appear not much farther up the road, and that was good, because after having sat for so long, my legs and feet were in a state of rebellion.  I humped it on down the road and marched right into the first hotel I came to that didn’t look like a dive.  BUT FIRST: I stopped at a large supermarket where I bought booze and Epsom salt.  It had some weird name I can’t remember.  Apparently a staple in Indiana.

Once checked into my hotel, I first soaked in a hot Epsom salt bath for awhile, which did me a world of good, and then I lounged around in this heated pool for an hour or longer.  Technically I think it was after “pool hours” but nobody seemed to ind.  I had it all to myself and it was glorious.  (I actually took this picture the next morning.) Then I went back to my room and crashed.

250

(OK, so I know I earlier stated that this story would be wrapped up in no more than three parts, but frankly I don’t feel like writing any more tonight, so I will conclude (maybe) in part 4.  Which will most likely appear in  a couple days.)

3 Responses to “Have I Ever Told you About the Time I tried To walk From Ann Arbor To Chicago (Part Three)”

  1. bonnie collier May 13, 2013 at 1:52 am #

    enjoyed the story, you really have a way with words to keep my interest. thank you

  2. domingosaurus July 2, 2015 at 12:23 am #

    Reblogged this on Not Necessarily About Dinosaurs or Anything Else.

Leave a Reply

AlyZen Moonshadow

The words and works of AlyZen Moonshadow, digital mixed media photography artist, designer, musician, poet, philosopher, mother, muse, Goddess!

Are You Finished Yet?

I like to write about stuff. I usually try to be funny. Take it or leave it.

Michael Rios

Sherlock unlocking the past

anewperspectiveperhaps

This site is about everything from my philosophy on life to the little things that make me laugh. IIt is about living, and breathing, and pausing long enough to take it all in. I hope it makes you laugh, sometimes makes you cry, but always makes you want to come back for another visit. It is your words, and your likes that inspire me to keep writing. And it is through my writing that you have a very large window to my soul. Relax awhile, read, and enjoy!

Be Free 2 Love

Soaring through Life, Love, & Happiness: One story at time.

PotatoPen

That's right! I write!

Forty, c'est Fantastique !

La vie est belle !

Mr Tookles

tee hee

The Dependent Independent

TV, movies, books…rants… just trying to put skills to use.

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Tubularsock

". . . first hand coverage, second hand news"

Elizabeth Conrad

True stories from a recovering asshole.

jenny's lark

the beauty of an ordinary life

Skinny and Single

Single and Over 40 and Not Suicidal About It

BunKaryudo

Lovingly Hand-Crafted Humor Blog

Life After 50

Life at any age can be amazing! We only need to grab hold & experience it!

Lessons from my daughter

Although all doctors agreed she would do nothing.....

lindaseccaspina

remembers the invention of the wheel

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Retro Girl & the Chemo Kid

Superpower: love. Adventures through childhood cancer, grief, healing and happiness.

What Rhymes with Stanza?

Words at rest, words at play

Life and Random Thinking

A old dog CAN blog

Just Fred in Wyo

Just a guy living life. These are my personal words and photos.

Live Laugh RV

Our next Chapter

NestOfSquirrels

Acorns. And scurrying.

The Falling Thoughts

Poems, Poetry Plus Passion

heretherebespiders

blowing through the cobwebs of my mind

Mental Defecation

My mind poops here

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

AlyZen Moonshadow

The words and works of AlyZen Moonshadow, digital mixed media photography artist, designer, musician, poet, philosopher, mother, muse, Goddess!

Are You Finished Yet?

I like to write about stuff. I usually try to be funny. Take it or leave it.

Michael Rios

Sherlock unlocking the past

anewperspectiveperhaps

This site is about everything from my philosophy on life to the little things that make me laugh. IIt is about living, and breathing, and pausing long enough to take it all in. I hope it makes you laugh, sometimes makes you cry, but always makes you want to come back for another visit. It is your words, and your likes that inspire me to keep writing. And it is through my writing that you have a very large window to my soul. Relax awhile, read, and enjoy!

Be Free 2 Love

Soaring through Life, Love, & Happiness: One story at time.

PotatoPen

That's right! I write!

Forty, c'est Fantastique !

La vie est belle !

Mr Tookles

tee hee

The Dependent Independent

TV, movies, books…rants… just trying to put skills to use.

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Tubularsock

". . . first hand coverage, second hand news"

Elizabeth Conrad

True stories from a recovering asshole.

jenny's lark

the beauty of an ordinary life

Skinny and Single

Single and Over 40 and Not Suicidal About It

BunKaryudo

Lovingly Hand-Crafted Humor Blog

Life After 50

Life at any age can be amazing! We only need to grab hold & experience it!

Lessons from my daughter

Although all doctors agreed she would do nothing.....

lindaseccaspina

remembers the invention of the wheel

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Retro Girl & the Chemo Kid

Superpower: love. Adventures through childhood cancer, grief, healing and happiness.

What Rhymes with Stanza?

Words at rest, words at play

Life and Random Thinking

A old dog CAN blog

Just Fred in Wyo

Just a guy living life. These are my personal words and photos.

Live Laugh RV

Our next Chapter

NestOfSquirrels

Acorns. And scurrying.

The Falling Thoughts

Poems, Poetry Plus Passion

heretherebespiders

blowing through the cobwebs of my mind

Mental Defecation

My mind poops here

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

