93 Days and Counting….

22 Jun

I will first off admit,willingly:  Summer does have it’s merits.  First and foremost: that’s when all the best movies come out.  (at least if you are a nerd-lore encrusted “fanboy” such as myself.)  Summer is typically the time at last when the movies I’ve been waiting for over the course of the last year are finally released.  I get to see Iron Man, Captain Kirk, Superman, Wolverine and Kick Ass in action once again.  Hooray! (Movies based on the works of J.R.R. Tolkien being the one exception I usually still get to look forward to in the latter part of the year )

10252389_gal

Then there’s the long hours of daylight.  I actually dig that.  It makes me feel like I can get a lot more done, even though, truth be told, the “day” as we call it is still exactly 24 hours long.   (A quick cross reference of a wide range of internet sources indicates we may as well call it 24 hours.  I thought it might be a tiny bit less, but as it turns out the variance ranges between 2 milliseconds and 4 minutes, so from now on I’m sticking with 24 hours.)

And that, for me, is where the usefulness of Summer ends.  Beyond that we have extreme heat, extreme humidity, obnoxious fireworks at all hours of the night, and an increased level of stupidity.  All of which I could do without.

watching-stupid-people-326

A typical resident of the town in which I live.

Oh wait, there’s one more thing.  We have to get Summer out of the way to get to Fall, which is, without a doubt, the best time of year EVER.  (I’ll write a more detailed account on the reasons for this when September 22cnd finally comes around.)

But it really wasn’t my intention to carry on about yearly climate tonight.

Truth is I don’t know what I wanted to carry on about.

Oh yeah!  I bought this cd today:

220px-Plays_Pretty_for_Baby

I owned it once before.  (So this was a re-buy.)   Though I am a self proclaimed “hoarder” I have occasionally had “epiphanies”  (usually drug/alcohol/and or break up with girlfriend induced) in which I’ve decided to become something called a “minimalist.”  At these horribly self deluded moments I have begun purging all my possessions with some crazy idea in my head that I will boil all my “things” down to what I can carry in my backpack and from then on simply “walk the earth.”  (Just like Kwai Chang Caine)…(end Pulp Fiction/Kung Fu reference)  Those days are over.  Now I am on a quest to reclaim every album I’ve ever owned, plus at least ten thousand more.  I am well aware I could “steal” all this music for free off the internet at any time, but that would defeat the whole purpose of collecting it in physical form.

So back to Nation of Ulysses.  They were an awesome punk rock band that existed from something like 1988 until about 1992.  They named themselves after a James Joyce novel.  They somehow fused punk rock, jazz, teen angst and a somewhat 50’s esque beat poet outlook on life into a sonic fueled cacophony of noise that becomes more melodic and harmonious the more often one listens to it.  Also they wore suits.  To put it simply, they fucking rocked.  (I think of them as the illegitimate child of MC5 and the Dead Kennedies.)  They even had their own “Zine” which apparently they published 8 issues of.

Anyway I bought that today, which completes my collection of actual Nation Of Ulysses studio albums.   (There are only 2, though there are a couple of eps, which don’t count since they are contained on the two albums, and one “posthumous” third album pieced together by some studio executives some 8 years after the band’s demise which doesn’t count because it’s “posthumous” and even more importantly: I don’t yet own it.)

I also bought the first 4 seasons of the original Bob Newhart Show.  (That’s NOT the one with Larry and the Darryls.)  Everyone says this was the better show, but truth be told, I kind of liked the one with Larry and the Darryls in it better.  Mainly because it had Larry and the Darryls in it.  But the original show was good too.

bob-newhartinsomnia

I bought some other things, but I won’t bother listing them, cause who the hell cares what I bought today?

Oh yeah and a 30 pack of PBR.  (Which I’m diligently working on turning into a 0 pack as I write this.)  I was going to buy Heineken, but then I remembered:  “HEINEKEN! FUCK THAT SHIT!  PABST….BLUE….RIBBON!!!!!” – Frank Booth.

300px-FrankBooth

If you don’t get this we’re not friends anymore.

Is this post any good?

Does it kind of suck?

Is it kind of rambling?

Am I a little tipsy?

Was The Bob Newhart Show a weak 70’s version of Frasier?

Or was it the other way around?

6 Responses to “93 Days and Counting….”

  1. Agent Beetle June 22, 2013 at 1:07 am #

    I’ve not heard of Nation of Ulysses until reading this. They sound interesting. You’ll have to play some of it for me. Also, I have a fondness for Newhart, although I haven’t ever watched the Bob Newhart Show. A fun fact, that I’m sure you’re aware of, is that Larry always had a quarter in his ear.

    • domingosaurus June 22, 2013 at 1:10 am #

      You will definitely dig Nation of Ulysses. I did NOT know about the quarter in the ear of Larry. Truth be told I haven’t seen that show since I was a kid.

      • Agent Beetle June 22, 2013 at 1:15 am #

        I haven’t watched it since childhood either, but that was a weird factoid that stood out in my memory. Haha!

  2. the winegetter June 22, 2013 at 6:49 pm #

    Ha, that makes me want to go and buy my own 30 can PBR container…one of the few perks of summer in Michigan. Couldn’t agree more re heat and humidity…

    • domingosaurus June 23, 2013 at 12:26 am #

      The thing about PBR is, why waste your money buying a 6 or a 12 pack, when, for only a little bit more, you can have a 30 pack? And it did, after all, win a Blue Ribbon once, right?

      • the winegetter June 23, 2013 at 12:59 am #

        Absolutely! I never buy it under 30…and for whatever it’s worth, it tastes as little as beer as possible, which is all I care about…:)

Leave a Reply

AlyZen Moonshadow

The words and works of AlyZen Moonshadow, digital mixed media photography artist, designer, musician, poet, philosopher, mother, muse, Goddess!

Are You Finished Yet?

I like to write about stuff. I usually try to be funny. Take it or leave it.

Michael's Origins

Sherlock unlocking the past

anewperspectiveperhaps

This site is about everything from my philosophy on life to the little things that make me laugh. IIt is about living, and breathing, and pausing long enough to take it all in. I hope it makes you laugh, sometimes makes you cry, but always makes you want to come back for another visit. It is your words, and your likes that inspire me to keep writing. And it is through my writing that you have a very large window to my soul. Relax awhile, read, and enjoy!

Be Free 2 Love

Soaring through Life, Love, & Happiness: One story at time.

PotatoPen

That's right! I write!

Forty, c'est Fantastique !

La vie est belle !

Mr Tookles

tee hee

The Dependent Independent

TV, movies, books…rants… just trying to put skills to use.

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Tubularsock

". . . first hand coverage, second hand news"

Elizabeth Conrad

True stories from a recovering asshole.

jenny's lark

the beauty of an ordinary life

Skinny and Single

Single and Over 40 and Not Suicidal About It

BunKaryudo

Lovingly Hand-Crafted Humor Blog

Life After 50

Life at any age can be amazing! We only need to grab hold & experience it!

Lessons from my daughter

Although all doctors agreed she would do nothing.....

lindaseccaspina

remembers the invention of the wheel

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Ram On

Soon, Right Away, Right Away

Retro Girl & the Chemo Kid

Superpower: love. Adventures through childhood cancer, grief, healing and happiness.

What Rhymes with Stanza?

Words at rest, words at play

Life and Random Thinking

A old dog CAN blog

Just Fred in Wyo

Just a guy living life in Wyoming. These are my personal words and photos.

Live Laugh RV

Our next Chapter

NestOfSquirrels

Acorns. And scurrying.

The Falling Thoughts

Poems, Poetry Plus Passion

heretherebespiders

blowing through the cobwebs of my mind

Mental Defecation

My mind poops here

AlyZen Moonshadow

The words and works of AlyZen Moonshadow, digital mixed media photography artist, designer, musician, poet, philosopher, mother, muse, Goddess!

Are You Finished Yet?

I like to write about stuff. I usually try to be funny. Take it or leave it.

Michael's Origins

Sherlock unlocking the past

anewperspectiveperhaps

This site is about everything from my philosophy on life to the little things that make me laugh. IIt is about living, and breathing, and pausing long enough to take it all in. I hope it makes you laugh, sometimes makes you cry, but always makes you want to come back for another visit. It is your words, and your likes that inspire me to keep writing. And it is through my writing that you have a very large window to my soul. Relax awhile, read, and enjoy!

Be Free 2 Love

Soaring through Life, Love, & Happiness: One story at time.

PotatoPen

That's right! I write!

Forty, c'est Fantastique !

La vie est belle !

Mr Tookles

tee hee

The Dependent Independent

TV, movies, books…rants… just trying to put skills to use.

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Tubularsock

". . . first hand coverage, second hand news"

Elizabeth Conrad

True stories from a recovering asshole.

jenny's lark

the beauty of an ordinary life

Skinny and Single

Single and Over 40 and Not Suicidal About It

BunKaryudo

Lovingly Hand-Crafted Humor Blog

Life After 50

Life at any age can be amazing! We only need to grab hold & experience it!

Lessons from my daughter

Although all doctors agreed she would do nothing.....

lindaseccaspina

remembers the invention of the wheel

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Ram On

Soon, Right Away, Right Away

Retro Girl & the Chemo Kid

Superpower: love. Adventures through childhood cancer, grief, healing and happiness.

What Rhymes with Stanza?

Words at rest, words at play

Life and Random Thinking

A old dog CAN blog

Just Fred in Wyo

Just a guy living life in Wyoming. These are my personal words and photos.

Live Laugh RV

Our next Chapter

NestOfSquirrels

Acorns. And scurrying.

The Falling Thoughts

Poems, Poetry Plus Passion

heretherebespiders

blowing through the cobwebs of my mind

Mental Defecation

My mind poops here

