The Importance of Being Ernest Borgnine

19 Jul

borgnine

images

Ok dear readers;  I’m gonna tell you right off the bat.  This post has absolutely nothing to do with Ernest Borgnine, Oscar Wilde, or any of the latter’s plays.  I just thought it was a funny idea for the title of a blog, and I wanted to use it, even though it has most likely already been done.  (What hasn’t?)

I haven’t written, drawn or painted anything in a couple weeks.  I could say I get seasonal depression, I could say I have ADD, I could say life’s got me down or whatever, but that’s all bullshit.  The truth is I’m fucking lazy.  I’m a lazy person.  Don’t get me wrong, I do what I have to do.  I go to work.  I pay my bills  (at such a time when it’s convenient for me to do so.)  And when it comes right down to it I’m probably just a little less lazy than the average person because I do from time to time get an uncontrollable urge to do something a little more.  To create something.  So I do.  When I feel like it.

And when I don’t feel like doing something, it’s really easy to come up with a wide range of excuses not to.  For instance:

“Oh yeah, I’ll get to that just as soon as I finish watching the latest season of Arrested Development.”

AD-Widescreen-Wall-arrested-development-2053936-1280-800

So I do.  That takes a couple days.  (It would probably take less but: Seeing as how I have to hold down a 40 hour a week job and shit…)  Then when I’ve finished watching the latest season of Arrested Development  I feel all empty, lonely and devoid of ambition, and think to myself:  “Oh you know what, I should watch the First Episode of the First Season again.”  So I do.  Then I end up watching all of it, plus season two and three, all the way through.  After which I STILL find myself  feeling  empty, lonely, and devoid of ambition.   So I decide to watch the fourth season (which I just watched) again, just for continuity purposes. (And such.)      At which point I’ve officially lost a week and a half my life.  But at least I’ve Caught Up…(wait for it)… on Arrested Development.  I call that Irony.

OK  “Irony Snobs.”  Unleash you torrents of diatribes on how that “Doesn’t Really Fit The Definition of Irony.”  Please regale me with stories of how your life is actually more pathetic than mine.

4 Responses to “The Importance of Being Ernest Borgnine”

  1. Titillating Thoughts July 19, 2013 at 11:11 pm #

    Season Four…Eh. Not impressed.

    I get you though. Keeping a blog is hard because there will be major gaps in when I write. Other times, I will write blogs everyday for a week.

    • domingosaurus July 20, 2013 at 6:53 pm #

      I didn’t think it was that bad. I admit it was a little weak compared to the first three seasons, but I still enjoyed it.

  2. thefoodandwinehedonist July 20, 2013 at 1:36 pm #

    Best title ever. Never make excuses for not writing. It’s ur blog and u write when u fucking want to!!

Leave a Reply

AlyZen Moonshadow

The words and works of AlyZen Moonshadow, digital mixed media photography artist, designer, musician, poet, philosopher, mother, muse, Goddess!

Are You Finished Yet?

I like to write about stuff. I usually try to be funny. Take it or leave it.

Michael Rios

Sherlock unlocking the past

anewperspectiveperhaps

This site is about everything from my philosophy on life to the little things that make me laugh. IIt is about living, and breathing, and pausing long enough to take it all in. I hope it makes you laugh, sometimes makes you cry, but always makes you want to come back for another visit. It is your words, and your likes that inspire me to keep writing. And it is through my writing that you have a very large window to my soul. Relax awhile, read, and enjoy!

Be Free 2 Love

Soaring through Life, Love, & Happiness: One story at time.

PotatoPen

That's right! I write!

Forty, c'est Fantastique !

La vie est belle !

Mr Tookles

tee hee

The Dependent Independent

TV, movies, books…rants… just trying to put skills to use.

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Tubularsock

". . . first hand coverage, second hand news"

Elizabeth Conrad

True stories from a recovering asshole.

jenny's lark

the beauty of an ordinary life

Skinny and Single

Single and Over 40 and Not Suicidal About It

BunKaryudo

Lovingly Hand-Crafted Humor Blog

Life After 50

Life at any age can be amazing! We only need to grab hold & experience it!

Lessons from my daughter

Although all doctors agreed she would do nothing.....

lindaseccaspina

remembers the invention of the wheel

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Retro Girl & the Chemo Kid

Superpower: love. Adventures through childhood cancer, grief, healing and happiness.

What Rhymes with Stanza?

Words at rest, words at play

Life and Random Thinking

A old dog CAN blog

Fred in Wyo

Just living

Live Laugh RV

Our next Chapter

NestOfSquirrels

Acorns. And scurrying.

The Falling Thoughts

Poems, Poetry Plus Passion

heretherebespiders

blowing through the cobwebs of my mind

Mental Defecation

My mind poops here

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

AlyZen Moonshadow

The words and works of AlyZen Moonshadow, digital mixed media photography artist, designer, musician, poet, philosopher, mother, muse, Goddess!

Are You Finished Yet?

I like to write about stuff. I usually try to be funny. Take it or leave it.

Michael Rios

Sherlock unlocking the past

anewperspectiveperhaps

This site is about everything from my philosophy on life to the little things that make me laugh. IIt is about living, and breathing, and pausing long enough to take it all in. I hope it makes you laugh, sometimes makes you cry, but always makes you want to come back for another visit. It is your words, and your likes that inspire me to keep writing. And it is through my writing that you have a very large window to my soul. Relax awhile, read, and enjoy!

Be Free 2 Love

Soaring through Life, Love, & Happiness: One story at time.

PotatoPen

That's right! I write!

Forty, c'est Fantastique !

La vie est belle !

Mr Tookles

tee hee

The Dependent Independent

TV, movies, books…rants… just trying to put skills to use.

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Tubularsock

". . . first hand coverage, second hand news"

Elizabeth Conrad

True stories from a recovering asshole.

jenny's lark

the beauty of an ordinary life

Skinny and Single

Single and Over 40 and Not Suicidal About It

BunKaryudo

Lovingly Hand-Crafted Humor Blog

Life After 50

Life at any age can be amazing! We only need to grab hold & experience it!

Lessons from my daughter

Although all doctors agreed she would do nothing.....

lindaseccaspina

remembers the invention of the wheel

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Retro Girl & the Chemo Kid

Superpower: love. Adventures through childhood cancer, grief, healing and happiness.

What Rhymes with Stanza?

Words at rest, words at play

Life and Random Thinking

A old dog CAN blog

Fred in Wyo

Just living

Live Laugh RV

Our next Chapter

NestOfSquirrels

Acorns. And scurrying.

The Falling Thoughts

Poems, Poetry Plus Passion

heretherebespiders

blowing through the cobwebs of my mind

Mental Defecation

My mind poops here

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

