These Are A Few of My Favorite Smells

16 Nov

There are several peculiar items that, if you were to hang out with me, you might catch me sniffing if I think you’re not looking.  (Or even if you are.  It’s not like I really care, after all I’m writing this blog right now, with the intention of posting it for all the world to see.)    These are generally non food type things that bear an uncanny ability to bring me back to childhood simply through my olfactory senses.  I have not listed them in any particular order.  I love them all equally.

1.)  A freshly cracked open box of Crayola Crayons.  There was so much creative potential in a new box of crayons, and that delightful smell!  (MMmmmmmm)

crayola-crayons

2.)  The inside of a paperback horror novel.  My mom read horror novels, which frequently got passed down to me, as long as she deemed them suitable for me, meaning there wasn’t too much swearing or sexual content.  I had stacks of them lining the walls of my bedroom (many of which I still have to this day.) The insides of these books bear a particular aroma which I thoroughly enjoy.  I suppose it’s just ink and paper, but whatever.  I love it.

booksimages

3.)  The Inside of the Post Office.  In the tiny town of Litchfield Michigan where I grew up, there was a little Post Office nestled off on a side street that we would sometimes go to, to buy stamps and stuff I suppose.  I delighted in going there, and primarily so I could enjoy the prevalent odor the place seemed to contain. (And I’ve found this to be true in all post offices I’ve visited.) I’m not sure what creates the smell, but I figure it has to have something to do with there being such a huge concentration of postage stamp and/or envelope glue contained within the establishment.  It is definitely unique to Post Offices.

download

4.)  Back in my day, my annual Halloween costume usually came out of a cardboard box with a window on the front displaying the mask.  The aforementioned mask was uncomfortable, you could barely see through it, and it had this suffocating almost pungent plastic aroma.  Oh how I loved it!

chewyyoda-1288051508_570x387

5.)  Play-Dough.  It didn’t taste nearly as good as it smelled.

playdough3

6.)  Freshly cut lumber.  Forget the candy store, take me to the lumber yard!

Wood_from_victoria_mountain_ash

7.)  Trading Cards.  Except for a brief spell in Middle school, I was never into sports cards.  I liked movie cards.  I have fond memories of getting a new pack of Empire Strikes Back, E.T. or Mork and Mindy cards, and rushing home to open them.  As you probably could have guessed, I still have most of them, and they still to this day have a slight smell about them that brings to mind a board like fragment of almost unchewable pink gum that came inside of each pack.  I never really liked the gum all that much, but the smell is reminiscent of childlike excitement.

opcesb

8.)   Scratch n’ Sniff stickers.  I was a pretty bright kid, so most of my school work came back with one of these stickers  attached, indicating a job well done.  I specifically remember really loving the popcorn ones.  Pickles though?  GROSS!!!!

scratachandsniff

9.)  Comic Books.  I love the way they smell.  Not the ones they make nowadays that are all glossy where each page is like a magazine cover, and cost about 5 bucks each, but the good old ones from my youth, that were made from newsprint, and costed about 50 cents each.  Every time I read a comic book. (And believe me, it’s something I do a lot.) I have to, at some point, take a moment to smell the inside pages.  Is that weird?  Probably.  Psychotic?  Maybe.

Comic Book Letters 4

10.)  Finally, Fall is, by far, my favorite season, and it always has been.  I love the cool weather, I love Halloween, I love the feeling of “Going Back to School”, even at times when I myself am not enrolled in classes, and, most importantly, I love the way it smells.  It’s crisp and refreshing.  “Smells like…..Victory.  Someday this war’s gonna end!”

fall

7 Responses to “These Are A Few of My Favorite Smells”

  1. teacherpatti November 17, 2013 at 3:45 am #

    Oh my goodness, we must be about the same age! I completely forgot about the Halloween costumes and how the masks smelled. I loved the little sneaky peek you got through the box and of course they always had those plastic cape things to wear, too! I loved smelly stickers…I had quite the collection. I also remember the gasoline one, the shoe, the skunk, the skeleton…ugh!

    • domingosaurus November 17, 2013 at 10:04 am #

      I don’t remember those! I do remember a “chocolate” one that bore absolutely NO resemblance at all to the smell of chocolate. In fact it was pretty bad, It was one of those things that I would smell, be repulsed, and some time later convince myself: “It couldn’t have been that bad, right?” and smell again. Yep, it was that bad.

  2. Agent Beetle November 17, 2013 at 9:57 am #

    I agree with most of the wonderful smells. A couple of my favorites were brand new cassette tape inserts, and a freshly opened vinyl art toy.

    • domingosaurus November 17, 2013 at 10:02 am #

      I know what you mean about cassette tapes! Some even smelled slightly better than others it seemed. Must have had something to do with the paper the insert was printed on or the chemicals used to coat it. I specifically remember my cassette copy of Sailing the Seas of Cheese. I just couldn’t stop smelling that tape insert!

      And Vinyl art toys, I bet the smell is sort of reminiscent of the old school Halloween costumes.

  3. Shannon December 14, 2013 at 11:32 pm #

    Burning leaves reminds me of the one time I went trick-or-treating as a kid. Also, the smell of deisel exhaust and corn tortillas takes me back to the Central American country I hated living in for a year when I was 12.

    • domingosaurus December 16, 2013 at 6:36 pm #

      Only one childhood trick or treating experience!?! That makes me very sad! 😦

  4. Carrie Rubin May 20, 2014 at 12:54 pm #

    I have to agree with these. Wonderful nostalgic scents. I, too, love fall and its crisp scent. Another smell I love is that of a baby’s head. Weird, I know, but they just smell so good. 🙂

    Thanks for visiting my site. I appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

AlyZen Moonshadow

The words and works of AlyZen Moonshadow, digital mixed media photography artist, designer, musician, poet, philosopher, mother, muse, Goddess!

Are You Finished Yet?

I like to write about stuff. I usually try to be funny. Take it or leave it.

Michael Rios

Sherlock unlocking the past

anewperspectiveperhaps

This site is about everything from my philosophy on life to the little things that make me laugh. IIt is about living, and breathing, and pausing long enough to take it all in. I hope it makes you laugh, sometimes makes you cry, but always makes you want to come back for another visit. It is your words, and your likes that inspire me to keep writing. And it is through my writing that you have a very large window to my soul. Relax awhile, read, and enjoy!

Be Free 2 Love

Soaring through Life, Love, & Happiness: One story at time.

PotatoPen

That's right! I write!

Forty, c'est Fantastique !

La vie est belle !

Mr Tookles

tee hee

The Dependent Independent

TV, movies, books…rants… just trying to put skills to use.

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Tubularsock

". . . first hand coverage, second hand news"

Elizabeth Conrad

True stories from a recovering asshole.

jenny's lark

the beauty of an ordinary life

Skinny and Single

Single and Over 40 and Not Suicidal About It

BunKaryudo

Lovingly Hand-Crafted Humor Blog

Life After 50

Life at any age can be amazing! We only need to grab hold & experience it!

Lessons from my daughter

Although all doctors agreed she would do nothing.....

lindaseccaspina

remembers the invention of the wheel

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Retro Girl & the Chemo Kid

Superpower: love. Adventures through childhood cancer, grief, healing and happiness.

What Rhymes with Stanza?

Words at rest, words at play

Life and Random Thinking

A old dog CAN blog

Fred in Wyo

Just living

Live Laugh RV

Our next Chapter

NestOfSquirrels

Acorns. And scurrying.

The Falling Thoughts

Poems, Poetry Plus Passion

heretherebespiders

blowing through the cobwebs of my mind

Mental Defecation

My mind poops here

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

AlyZen Moonshadow

The words and works of AlyZen Moonshadow, digital mixed media photography artist, designer, musician, poet, philosopher, mother, muse, Goddess!

Are You Finished Yet?

I like to write about stuff. I usually try to be funny. Take it or leave it.

Michael Rios

Sherlock unlocking the past

anewperspectiveperhaps

This site is about everything from my philosophy on life to the little things that make me laugh. IIt is about living, and breathing, and pausing long enough to take it all in. I hope it makes you laugh, sometimes makes you cry, but always makes you want to come back for another visit. It is your words, and your likes that inspire me to keep writing. And it is through my writing that you have a very large window to my soul. Relax awhile, read, and enjoy!

Be Free 2 Love

Soaring through Life, Love, & Happiness: One story at time.

PotatoPen

That's right! I write!

Forty, c'est Fantastique !

La vie est belle !

Mr Tookles

tee hee

The Dependent Independent

TV, movies, books…rants… just trying to put skills to use.

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Tubularsock

". . . first hand coverage, second hand news"

Elizabeth Conrad

True stories from a recovering asshole.

jenny's lark

the beauty of an ordinary life

Skinny and Single

Single and Over 40 and Not Suicidal About It

BunKaryudo

Lovingly Hand-Crafted Humor Blog

Life After 50

Life at any age can be amazing! We only need to grab hold & experience it!

Lessons from my daughter

Although all doctors agreed she would do nothing.....

lindaseccaspina

remembers the invention of the wheel

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Retro Girl & the Chemo Kid

Superpower: love. Adventures through childhood cancer, grief, healing and happiness.

What Rhymes with Stanza?

Words at rest, words at play

Life and Random Thinking

A old dog CAN blog

Fred in Wyo

Just living

Live Laugh RV

Our next Chapter

NestOfSquirrels

Acorns. And scurrying.

The Falling Thoughts

Poems, Poetry Plus Passion

heretherebespiders

blowing through the cobwebs of my mind

Mental Defecation

My mind poops here

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

