Sick Day

6 Dec

I probably should have called in sick to work yesterday. but instead I marched right on in at my appointed time and hung out just long enough to infect at least three other people that I know of.  (Sorry Tonya, Jeff and Leslie.)

I wasn’t always this much of a juggernaut.  In fact, back in my more irresponsible days (say five or six years ago,) I used to make it a point to call in to work at least once every couple of months or so, whether I was sick or not, ( and to be perfectly honest I usually wasn’t) just to remind myself that I’m not a slave.  I can stay home any time I want.  The days I chose to do this on were never premeditated. After all I’ve always had at least a little bit of work ethic, and I would never think of calling in just because I’d gone out drinking the night before, or because there was a movie I wanted to see, or anything like that.  It was as simple as this, I’d get up one day, fully intending to go to work, and then suddenly decide, for no apparent reason, that I wouldn’t, and the thing was, as soon as I summoned up the courage to make that painful phone call, I felt GREAT.  It was a liberating feeling,  and I usually found myself enjoying the day more than I would an ordinary day off. It was like a stolen moment in time just for me, though I admit the feeling was always accompanied with a dash of guilt.  (Partially for my lost wages, partially for lying,  and partially for my co workers who would now have to pick up my slack.)

images

I can honestly say I have never done that at my current places of employment. (I have two jobs, one full time, one part time.)  Part of the reason for this new found dedication is I’ve finally found a job that I really don’t mind being at.  In fact there are times that I’d rather be there than in my own apartment, but I think I might be getting into material that would be better reserved for a future blog that will probably never be written.   (Suffice it to say the actual tasks I have before me at both of my places of employment are things I sincerely enjoy doing, plus I like being around the people who work there)

Another reason I have never called in to my current job is that I seem to never really get very sick. Sure, I get sinus colds a couple times a year and occasional chest congestion, but it’s rarely bad enough that I can’t tough it out and get through my work day. For this ridiculous immunity I credit my disgusting eating habits.  I often like to tell people my body is so full of junk even a flu virus can’t survive inside of it, and at least once every week or two I get good and drunk which I think of as the best way to sterilize any remaining nastiness that might be lingering around in there somewhere.  (Ridicule if you must, but I have not had the flu in well over two decades, in spite of the fact that I have never had a flu shot.)

download

So Wednesday evening, after I’d worked my shift,  I was feeling pretty run down.  This unusual exhaustion had been building throughout the day, but I’d chalked it up to the fact that I hadn’t really eaten anything all day.  After finding out I did not, as previously believed, have to work at job number 2, I came home, and laid around watching Netflix the rest of the evening, feeling shittier and shittier.  (It was an odd sort of sickness.  I wasn’t nauseous, and my sinuses were perfectly clear, but I felt a definite lack of energy and later on, as I was drifting in and out of sleep I was certainly feverish.  I woke up in the middle of the night cold and sweaty, even though I was under a pile of blankets.)

200_s

But I felt well enough in the morning to go to work, so I did.  The fever crept back up on me as I worked my shift.  My bones ached.  I felt cold even though I am usually too hot no matter what is going on.  I had NO energy.  NO appetite.  (Still no nausea though.  The only time that ever seems to happen to me any more is if I drink WAY too much alcohol, which I hardly ever do.)   I came to the conclusion, after about an hour and a half, that I was probably a contagion to those around me, not to mention my body could probably use a day of rest, so I did the unthinkable, I informed management that I was ducking out for the day, and did so.

I can’t say I had a pleasant day, because I did in fact feel pretty crummy.  The morning crawled into afternoon and eventually evening as I incubated under a pile of blankets, shivering and sweaty, hot and cold at the same time, and I passed those slow moving hours watching something like 20 straight episodes of The Walking Dead.

the-walking-dead-poster

(For the record, The Walking Dead is something I’ve been behind the times on for a long while.  I saw the first season shortly after it came out, and I own (and have read) many of the comics, but every time I’ve tried to get through the whole series I’ve been distracted by something else, and by the time I got back to it had to start all over.  Not this time.  I’m over halfway through season 3, and I mean to get caught up.  I’ve thus far managed to avoid most, if not all spoilers, so if anyone ruins this for me, to quote Liam Neeson in that movie that I’ve never seen and probably never will: “I will find you, and I will kill you.”  So just don’t.  Please don’t.)

So anyway, after approximately 24 hours of mostly laying in bed, drifting in and out of consciousness while this show featuring (but not really about) zombies flickered episode after episode by me, I got up early this morning and headed back to work. (In fact I worked both jobs today, so I trudged through 12 hours of holiday retail madness.)  I admit I was still a little rough around the edges, and possibly managed to spread the sickness around to a few more co workers or shoppers, but I made it through the day without collapsing dead,  and to top it all I learned something very profound.  Watching 20 hours of Walking Dead and working 12 hours in retail  during the so called “Holidays” really aren’t all that much different from one another.

Publication1

4 Responses to “Sick Day”

  1. thefoodandwinehedonist December 6, 2014 at 5:15 pm #

    Except you can’t stick a sharpened pipe through the head of shoppers. Season 4 is better, current season 5 is fantastic… Don’t think that spoiled anything for you

    • domingosaurus December 6, 2014 at 9:09 pm #

      Well…you could, but it might be frowned upon.

  2. Jay December 10, 2014 at 1:39 am #

    Oh lordy I love a sick day. I mean, technically I’m self-employed so I don’t have to pretend to sick, I just have to decide not to go. I hardly ever do it, but when i do, I don’t want to waste it being sick, I want to enjoy it! I love having the house to myself, I love lazing about, I love that sense of freedom from a surprised extra day of me time.
    Hope you’re feeling better.

    • domingosaurus December 21, 2014 at 4:43 am #

      Oh yeah I was pretty much back to normal within two days. I really don’t seem to get sick very much, and when I do it quickly passes.

Leave a Reply

AlyZen Moonshadow

The words and works of AlyZen Moonshadow, digital mixed media photography artist, designer, musician, poet, philosopher, mother, muse, Goddess!

Are You Finished Yet?

I like to write about stuff. I usually try to be funny. Take it or leave it.

Michael's Origins

Sherlock unlocking the past

anewperspectiveperhaps

This site is about everything from my philosophy on life to the little things that make me laugh. IIt is about living, and breathing, and pausing long enough to take it all in. I hope it makes you laugh, sometimes makes you cry, but always makes you want to come back for another visit. It is your words, and your likes that inspire me to keep writing. And it is through my writing that you have a very large window to my soul. Relax awhile, read, and enjoy!

Be Free 2 Love

Soaring through Life, Love, & Happiness: One story at time.

PotatoPen

That's right! I write!

Forty, c'est Fantastique !

La vie est belle !

Mr Tookles

tee hee

The Dependent Independent

TV, movies, books…rants… just trying to put skills to use.

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Tubularsock

". . . first hand coverage, second hand news"

Elizabeth Conrad

True stories from a recovering asshole.

jenny's lark

the beauty of an ordinary life

Skinny and Single

Single and Over 40 and Not Suicidal About It

BunKaryudo

Lovingly Hand-Crafted Humor Blog

Life After 50

Life at any age can be amazing! We only need to grab hold & experience it!

Lessons from my daughter

Although all doctors agreed she would do nothing.....

lindaseccaspina

remembers the invention of the wheel

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Ram On

Soon, Right Away, Right Away

Retro Girl & the Chemo Kid

Superpower: love. Adventures through childhood cancer, grief, healing and happiness.

What Rhymes with Stanza?

Words at rest, words at play

Life and Random Thinking

A old dog CAN blog

Just Fred in Wyo

Just a guy living life in Wyoming. These are my personal words and photos.

Live Laugh RV

Our next Chapter

NestOfSquirrels

Acorns. And scurrying.

The Falling Thoughts

Poems, Poetry Plus Passion

heretherebespiders

blowing through the cobwebs of my mind

Mental Defecation

My mind poops here

AlyZen Moonshadow

The words and works of AlyZen Moonshadow, digital mixed media photography artist, designer, musician, poet, philosopher, mother, muse, Goddess!

Are You Finished Yet?

I like to write about stuff. I usually try to be funny. Take it or leave it.

Michael's Origins

Sherlock unlocking the past

anewperspectiveperhaps

This site is about everything from my philosophy on life to the little things that make me laugh. IIt is about living, and breathing, and pausing long enough to take it all in. I hope it makes you laugh, sometimes makes you cry, but always makes you want to come back for another visit. It is your words, and your likes that inspire me to keep writing. And it is through my writing that you have a very large window to my soul. Relax awhile, read, and enjoy!

Be Free 2 Love

Soaring through Life, Love, & Happiness: One story at time.

PotatoPen

That's right! I write!

Forty, c'est Fantastique !

La vie est belle !

Mr Tookles

tee hee

The Dependent Independent

TV, movies, books…rants… just trying to put skills to use.

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Tubularsock

". . . first hand coverage, second hand news"

Elizabeth Conrad

True stories from a recovering asshole.

jenny's lark

the beauty of an ordinary life

Skinny and Single

Single and Over 40 and Not Suicidal About It

BunKaryudo

Lovingly Hand-Crafted Humor Blog

Life After 50

Life at any age can be amazing! We only need to grab hold & experience it!

Lessons from my daughter

Although all doctors agreed she would do nothing.....

lindaseccaspina

remembers the invention of the wheel

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Ram On

Soon, Right Away, Right Away

Retro Girl & the Chemo Kid

Superpower: love. Adventures through childhood cancer, grief, healing and happiness.

What Rhymes with Stanza?

Words at rest, words at play

Life and Random Thinking

A old dog CAN blog

Just Fred in Wyo

Just a guy living life in Wyoming. These are my personal words and photos.

Live Laugh RV

Our next Chapter

NestOfSquirrels

Acorns. And scurrying.

The Falling Thoughts

Poems, Poetry Plus Passion

heretherebespiders

blowing through the cobwebs of my mind

Mental Defecation

My mind poops here

