The Rare and Much Maligned Venture Into A Discussion on Religious Matters. (Brace Yourselves)

10 Jan

I am an Agnostic.

A lot of people think this term (Agnostic) is interchangeable with Atheist.  It is NOT!.  In fact Agnostic and Atheist are exact polar opposites. A true Atheist, the most fanatical Pope, and the most devout Muslim are far more alike than any Agnostic and Atheist will ever be.

Atheists accept science as the one and only reality of existence.  (Which is totally fine.)  They have faith, in science. much like Christians have faith in Christ as their savior, (which is totally fine.) Muslims have faith in Mohammed being the last prophet of Allah, (totally fine) and Buddhists have faith in just being really laid back and walking the middle path and basically accepting things as they are. (also fine.)

I’ve heard people claim that labeling yourself as an Agnostic is a sort of “Cop Out.”  A way of sitting on the fence and seeing what happens, or playing the ultimate game of “Devil’s Advocate” or whatever.  Yeah, OK.  Maybe.  (As an Agnostic, that’s my answer to everything:  Maybe.)

The truth is, as an Agnostic, I accept ALL beliefs as equally valid.  It doesn’t matter how ridiculous a theory might sound to someone else, I will listen, and acknowledge it as a possibility, because the truth is I have no way of knowing, for sure, that it isn’t true.  I reject NOTHING.  I don’t necessarily believe your theories, but I don’t necessarily disbelieve them either.  (Are you picking up what I’m laying down here?  If not, read on.  I’m going to try to explain it, for at least a couple hundred more words or so)

I actually started to get into this idea a little bit earlier with  a post about a John Carpenter movie, but that pretty much just ended up being a movie review.  Yet behind the thin veneer of that alleged movie review I was really discussing a school of philosophy known as “Phenomenology.”  There have been many giant and virtually unreadable tomes written in regards to this philosophy, which is hilarious to me, considering the entire school of thought can be summed up very quickly and here it is in the proverbial nutshell:   I only know ONE thing, for certain, and that is this:  What I think of as my consciousness, does in fact exist, in some form or another, or else I would not be able to think these thoughts I am expressing right now. And that’s it.  That’s all I really know, for sure.

Renee Descartes started all this with the expression almost everyone has probably heard at some point or another, “I think therefore I am.”  But beyond that what do we really know?  We know what people tell us.  We know what our senses reveal to us. We know what the media chooses to expose us to, but we have no way of knowing, for certain, that this information has any basis in fact.

So how could I ever decide which belief systems are real and which are not?  SCIENCE!  JESUS!  ALLAH!  MONEY!  REPUBLICANS!  DEMOCRATS!  HONEY BADGER! These things, and countless things like them, are hammered into our heads day after day, night after night. I am told, by countless millions, I HAVE to choose one thing over something else.  But why?  Why should I?  Why can’t I just be left alone?

The answer is Bacon.  42.  Marvin Gaye.  Coca Cola. Mona Lisa.  Evolution.  Hipsters.  Pizza.  It is al of these and none of these.  It is also said you should never consult an Agnostic for advice, for they shall say both no and yes.

Or maybe I’ll just sit here and stare at the insides of my eyelids (or what my sensory apparatus is telling my brain is the insides of my eyelids) until I realize suddenly the next day has arrived.  (With or without a pissed on rug)

4 Responses to “The Rare and Much Maligned Venture Into A Discussion on Religious Matters. (Brace Yourselves)”

  1. Mandy January 10, 2015 at 4:18 am #

    Very well written and made me think – I’ve never thought of an agnostic in that way before. I’ve always thought they weren’t sure one way or another, but they were hedging their bets, just in case. (Oh, and I almost never read a blog the whole way through, but I did this one).

    • domingosaurus January 10, 2015 at 5:11 am #

      Well, in a way you’re right, I (as an agnostic) am not sure one way or another, but hedging my bets? Against what? Against whom? The truth is, I suppose I just don’t care enough to bother. I’m too busy enjoying this illusion that people call “Life” to worry much about it.

  2. C.C. March 11, 2015 at 2:54 pm #

    Coca-cola is the answer? Wait, what? And here I thought Pepsi was the answer. I took the taste test challenge. I was pretty certain. Dammit all. Now I’m confused 😛

    • domingosaurus March 14, 2015 at 12:23 am #

      Pepsi’s just plain gross. Coca Cola is delicious. Sure it may be eating my insides out, but that doesn’t change the fact that it’s delicious.

Leave a Reply

AlyZen Moonshadow

The words and works of AlyZen Moonshadow, digital mixed media photography artist, designer, musician, poet, philosopher, mother, muse, Goddess!

Are You Finished Yet?

I like to write about stuff. I usually try to be funny. Take it or leave it.

Michael Rios

Sherlock unlocking the past

anewperspectiveperhaps

This site is about everything from my philosophy on life to the little things that make me laugh. IIt is about living, and breathing, and pausing long enough to take it all in. I hope it makes you laugh, sometimes makes you cry, but always makes you want to come back for another visit. It is your words, and your likes that inspire me to keep writing. And it is through my writing that you have a very large window to my soul. Relax awhile, read, and enjoy!

Be Free 2 Love

Soaring through Life, Love, & Happiness: One story at time.

PotatoPen

That's right! I write!

Forty, c'est Fantastique !

La vie est belle !

Mr Tookles

tee hee

The Dependent Independent

TV, movies, books…rants… just trying to put skills to use.

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Tubularsock

". . . first hand coverage, second hand news"

Elizabeth Conrad

True stories from a recovering asshole.

jenny's lark

the beauty of an ordinary life

Skinny and Single

Single and Over 40 and Not Suicidal About It

BunKaryudo

Lovingly Hand-Crafted Humor Blog

Life After 50

Life at any age can be amazing! We only need to grab hold & experience it!

Lessons from my daughter

Although all doctors agreed she would do nothing.....

lindaseccaspina

remembers the invention of the wheel

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Retro Girl & the Chemo Kid

Superpower: love. Adventures through childhood cancer, grief, healing and happiness.

What Rhymes with Stanza?

Words at rest, words at play

Life and Random Thinking

A old dog CAN blog

Fred in Wyo

Just living

Live Laugh RV

Our next Chapter

NestOfSquirrels

Acorns. And scurrying.

The Falling Thoughts

Poems, Poetry Plus Passion

heretherebespiders

blowing through the cobwebs of my mind

Mental Defecation

My mind poops here

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

AlyZen Moonshadow

The words and works of AlyZen Moonshadow, digital mixed media photography artist, designer, musician, poet, philosopher, mother, muse, Goddess!

Are You Finished Yet?

I like to write about stuff. I usually try to be funny. Take it or leave it.

Michael Rios

Sherlock unlocking the past

anewperspectiveperhaps

This site is about everything from my philosophy on life to the little things that make me laugh. IIt is about living, and breathing, and pausing long enough to take it all in. I hope it makes you laugh, sometimes makes you cry, but always makes you want to come back for another visit. It is your words, and your likes that inspire me to keep writing. And it is through my writing that you have a very large window to my soul. Relax awhile, read, and enjoy!

Be Free 2 Love

Soaring through Life, Love, & Happiness: One story at time.

PotatoPen

That's right! I write!

Forty, c'est Fantastique !

La vie est belle !

Mr Tookles

tee hee

The Dependent Independent

TV, movies, books…rants… just trying to put skills to use.

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Tubularsock

". . . first hand coverage, second hand news"

Elizabeth Conrad

True stories from a recovering asshole.

jenny's lark

the beauty of an ordinary life

Skinny and Single

Single and Over 40 and Not Suicidal About It

BunKaryudo

Lovingly Hand-Crafted Humor Blog

Life After 50

Life at any age can be amazing! We only need to grab hold & experience it!

Lessons from my daughter

Although all doctors agreed she would do nothing.....

lindaseccaspina

remembers the invention of the wheel

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Retro Girl & the Chemo Kid

Superpower: love. Adventures through childhood cancer, grief, healing and happiness.

What Rhymes with Stanza?

Words at rest, words at play

Life and Random Thinking

A old dog CAN blog

Fred in Wyo

Just living

Live Laugh RV

Our next Chapter

NestOfSquirrels

Acorns. And scurrying.

The Falling Thoughts

Poems, Poetry Plus Passion

heretherebespiders

blowing through the cobwebs of my mind

Mental Defecation

My mind poops here

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

