Wednesday Afternoon. On my Deck. (I Think it was the Fourth of July.)

21 Apr

I enjoy Wednesday afternoons, and spend the first part of my week looking forward to them eagerly.  This is mostly because on Thursday morning I get to sleep in until the ridiculous hour of 7:00 am,  which means Wednesday night has become what I like to call:  “Drinking Night.”  (One of three. The other two I will save for future blog fodder, which may or may not be entitled “Friday Afternoon. On the Porch (I Think it was the Fourth of July),” and “Saturday Afternoon.  On the Porch. (I Think it was the Fourth of July.)”    Or perhaps I will have come up with something wittier by then.  What’s even more likely is these alleged future blogs will end up being nothing more than empty promises.

I usually start the consumption of alcoholic beverages a little after noon, which is when I get home from work.  I prepare in advance for this eventuality by having a good solid meal as late as possible during my work shift, so as to ensure that when I arrive home I won’t have to be bothered with any of that “eating nonsense.”

DSC_01871

Sweet and Sour Chicken is a frequent go to meal on any “Drinking Day.”

Now before any of you teetotalers begin preaching at me, here’s the thing.  Sometimes I don’t feel like having a “Drinking Day,” so guess what: I don’t.  I have thoroughly convinced myself that this is the reason I’m not “An Alcoholic.”  In fact, becoming a full fledged “Alcoholic” is actually beyond my level of motivation and/or focus.  Maybe I’m right.  Maybe I’m wrong.  Who cares?  It’s like some guy said once:  “Life is way too important to be taken seriously.”  I agree wholeheartedly.

Oscar_Wilde_portrait

ok, it was this guy.

So what I frequently do on Wednesday is sit on my deck, drinking alcoholic beverages of some kind or another, smoking various non tobacco like herbs, listening to my headphones at full volume and just kind of watching the world go by.    Drinking Nights are great, because I have fully resigned myself to accomplishing nothing, and I set out to do exactly that, never feeling bad about it because that’s exactly what I decided to do.  This is in sharp contrast to every other day, when I come home full of ambition about a wide variety of various projects I’m going to complete, just as soon as I watch about 6 hours of Netflix followed by going to bed.  (I always feel bad about it, but I do it anyway.)  My “Drinking Nights,” on the other hand, are planned “do nothing” days.   They are also the only days on which I ever write blogs.  Cheers!

001

Here is a view from my illustrious deck.

What I do while sitting on my deck drinking and smoking (usually George Thorogood style) is engage in daydreams of various lifelong fantasies.  First and foremost is my ever running plot to start my own Fleetwood Mac cover band.  I will sing all the songs.  In the costumery, and vocal stylings of Darth Vader.  The rest of the band will be dressed as stormtroopers.  We will call ourselves Fleetwood Empire.  This will be our logo:

bi

And we will look something like this:

ggg

And our songs will sound something like this:

“Don’t stop…Thinking about the Dark Side

 Don’t Stop…It will soon be here.

Don’t stop….Thinking about the Dark Side

Obi Wan’s gone…Obi Wan’s gone,,,”

The End.

Leave a Reply

AlyZen Moonshadow

The words and works of AlyZen Moonshadow, digital mixed media photography artist, designer, musician, poet, philosopher, mother, muse, Goddess!

Are You Finished Yet?

I like to write about stuff. I usually try to be funny. Take it or leave it.

Michael Rios

Sherlock unlocking the past

anewperspectiveperhaps

This site is about everything from my philosophy on life to the little things that make me laugh. IIt is about living, and breathing, and pausing long enough to take it all in. I hope it makes you laugh, sometimes makes you cry, but always makes you want to come back for another visit. It is your words, and your likes that inspire me to keep writing. And it is through my writing that you have a very large window to my soul. Relax awhile, read, and enjoy!

Be Free 2 Love

Soaring through Life, Love, & Happiness: One story at time.

PotatoPen

That's right! I write!

Forty, c'est Fantastique !

La vie est belle !

Mr Tookles

tee hee

The Dependent Independent

TV, movies, books…rants… just trying to put skills to use.

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Tubularsock

". . . first hand coverage, second hand news"

Elizabeth Conrad

True stories from a recovering asshole.

jenny's lark

the beauty of an ordinary life

Skinny and Single

Single and Over 40 and Not Suicidal About It

BunKaryudo

Lovingly Hand-Crafted Humor Blog

Life After 50

Life at any age can be amazing! We only need to grab hold & experience it!

Lessons from my daughter

Although all doctors agreed she would do nothing.....

lindaseccaspina

remembers the invention of the wheel

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Retro Girl & the Chemo Kid

Superpower: love. Adventures through childhood cancer, grief, healing and happiness.

What Rhymes with Stanza?

Words at rest, words at play

Life and Random Thinking

A old dog CAN blog

Just Fred in Wyo

Just a guy living life. These are my personal words and photos.

Live Laugh RV

Our next Chapter

NestOfSquirrels

Acorns. And scurrying.

The Falling Thoughts

Poems, Poetry Plus Passion

heretherebespiders

blowing through the cobwebs of my mind

Mental Defecation

My mind poops here

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

AlyZen Moonshadow

The words and works of AlyZen Moonshadow, digital mixed media photography artist, designer, musician, poet, philosopher, mother, muse, Goddess!

Are You Finished Yet?

I like to write about stuff. I usually try to be funny. Take it or leave it.

Michael Rios

Sherlock unlocking the past

anewperspectiveperhaps

This site is about everything from my philosophy on life to the little things that make me laugh. IIt is about living, and breathing, and pausing long enough to take it all in. I hope it makes you laugh, sometimes makes you cry, but always makes you want to come back for another visit. It is your words, and your likes that inspire me to keep writing. And it is through my writing that you have a very large window to my soul. Relax awhile, read, and enjoy!

Be Free 2 Love

Soaring through Life, Love, & Happiness: One story at time.

PotatoPen

That's right! I write!

Forty, c'est Fantastique !

La vie est belle !

Mr Tookles

tee hee

The Dependent Independent

TV, movies, books…rants… just trying to put skills to use.

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Tubularsock

". . . first hand coverage, second hand news"

Elizabeth Conrad

True stories from a recovering asshole.

jenny's lark

the beauty of an ordinary life

Skinny and Single

Single and Over 40 and Not Suicidal About It

BunKaryudo

Lovingly Hand-Crafted Humor Blog

Life After 50

Life at any age can be amazing! We only need to grab hold & experience it!

Lessons from my daughter

Although all doctors agreed she would do nothing.....

lindaseccaspina

remembers the invention of the wheel

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Retro Girl & the Chemo Kid

Superpower: love. Adventures through childhood cancer, grief, healing and happiness.

What Rhymes with Stanza?

Words at rest, words at play

Life and Random Thinking

A old dog CAN blog

Just Fred in Wyo

Just a guy living life. These are my personal words and photos.

Live Laugh RV

Our next Chapter

NestOfSquirrels

Acorns. And scurrying.

The Falling Thoughts

Poems, Poetry Plus Passion

heretherebespiders

blowing through the cobwebs of my mind

Mental Defecation

My mind poops here

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

