Twisted Tales of Terror From the Land of All Night Convenience (Episode 19: The Gas Station Clerk and the Pizza Delivery Girl)

25 Jul

I spent a good portion of my youthful 20’s wasting my evenings away in an all night convenience store. This particular station was privately owned by a straight up awesome guy; one of the best bosses I’ve ever worked for.  He paid us well, he treated us well, and as long as we got our work done, he let us get away with pretty much anything we wanted. In return he got employees who showed up to work, (mostly on time) performed their duties to the best of their ability, didn’t steal from him, and, perhaps most importantly, stuck around for awhile, so he wasn’t always having to train new people.  He was a really smart business owner.  The world would be a much cooler place if all business owners understood this concept.

Nighthawks_by_Edward_Hopper_1942

Though I knew even then there were things about the job I genuinely liked, even enjoyed, I mostly hated my life at that time, and it was all because of that 12 hour shift looming over my head every Saturday, Sunday, and Tuesday night.  When all my buddies were out partying and having a good time, I was stuck behind that counter, dealing with scumbags and assholes all night.  Truth be told, the vast majority of people are actually decent human beings, or at least act like it most of the time, but it only takes one asshole to ruin your whole day of work.  I’ll get into some of those stories later.  Tonight’s offering will be yet another foray into my hilariously uneventful “love life.”

There was a girl that used to stop in every Saturday night shortly after 1:00 am, like clockwork.  She delivered pizzas for a place down the street, which I would sometimes order food from.  She always hung around to chat with me for a few minutes before leaving with her purchases, which always consisted of a pack of Marlboro Lights in a box and a bottle of Mountain Dew.

(DIGRESSION: This brings up an interesting point for a possible future blog on customer archetypes.  There are, for instance, the people who buy the exact same thing, every single time. There are the ones who buy different things at different times, but still from a limited menu of options.  (I myself fit into that category.) Others are complete wild cards. END OF DIGRESSION) Over time I developed a huge crush on this girl and eventually decided I was going to do the unthinkable: I was going to ask her out!!!

Having made up my mind, I now commenced on an agonizing three month journey through peaks and valleys of self confidence.  During this time period I would plan on hatching my scheme all week, rehearsing various lines I might use, and attempting to build up my courage.  Every Saturday night she would come and go, and each time I invariably chickened out and said nothing (other than the usual small talk we engaged in anyhow.)   There always followed a week of kicking myself for my cowardice, and being 100% certain I was going to go through with it the following Saturday.

So eventually, one Saturday when I got to work, things seemed different.  I was experiencing a sort of “Butterflies in Stomach” feeling, and somehow I knew…this was going to be the night!  1:00 am approached slowly but surely, and the nervousness in the pit of my stomach grew.  Was I really going to go through with it this time?  (It seemed like I was.)

clock

So 1:00 arrives and before too much longer so did she.  The usual small talk began with her commenting on the music I was listening to.  (I used to make 2 hour mix tapes to take with me to work.  The mix tapes were the subject of much conversation in the gas station, as I always did my best to follow each and every song with it’s exact polar opposite.  I also made fun and amusing titles and covers for these mix tapes.  I still have most of them. Once again I am venturing into territory that could be used for another blog.  And I never feel like I have anything to write about…Sigh.)

Things are going well.  There’s nobody else around and she seems, as usual, content to hang out and shoot the shit for awhile before heading out on her way, and I had managed to sneak in a couple drinks between customers, which was somewhat helping to even my nerves out a little. (By the way my boss knew I did this, and didn’t mind as long as I paid for said drinks, which I always did, didn’t get out of hand, which I only sometimes did, and was discreet about it, which I was until I wrote about it in a blog some 15 years after the fact.  I think he also knew if I had a slight buzz on, I was actually quite a bit nicer to people.  Like I said, he was a great boss.)

A few minutes of chatting, a brief awkward silence, and suddenly I dive in:

“Hey can I ask you something?” I venture.

“Sure!” she said it cheerfully with no apprehension at all.  This should have been a good indicator, but then without missing a beat, I immediately come up with this:

“Do you guys need any more delivery drivers down there?  I’ve been thinking about getting a second job and it seems like that might be kind of cool…”

“Hell yeah, we always need more delivery drivers.  Are you working tomorrow night?  I’ll bring you an application!”

“Yup.”

So she brings in the application the next day, I fill it out and bring it in to the pizza joint (because I have to now, right?) and within about a week I end up having a second job, delivering pizzas, which I continued to do for the next…three…YEARS, even though I really didn’t need (or want) a second job.

(To be fair, the pizza gig turned out to be kind of fun, I always had money, I made a ton of cool new friends, some of whom I still hang out with to this day, plus we got free food all the time, so I guess it all worked out.)

download

Oh and I did eventually go on a date with that girl, a few months after starting the job, after she broke up with the boyfriend she’d had the whole time I was crushing on her, (which I didn’t know about) but apparently I kind of blew it when I didn’t kiss her good night when I dropped her off. (Her “cool factor” dipped substantially when she revealed she was a big fan of NASCAR, and on that note I want to apologize to any of my readers who might be NASCAR fans.  I’m not judging you.  Well, yeah…I am, but you shouldn’t care, because the opinions of others should mean nothing to anyone, though for me, the thought of watching people driving in circles for 3 hours just seems, well, idiotic.)

4 Responses to “Twisted Tales of Terror From the Land of All Night Convenience (Episode 19: The Gas Station Clerk and the Pizza Delivery Girl)”

  1. Renard Moreau July 29, 2015 at 8:03 am #

    [ Smiles ] Hmm. Delivering or making pizza has its perks!

    • domingosaurus July 29, 2015 at 7:49 pm #

      Indeed! Unfortunately one of those perks turned out to be gaining about 50 pounds. (And I pretty much ran my car into the ground.) But other than that it was awesome! 🙂

  2. John Hueni IV August 19, 2015 at 1:22 pm #

    So many [GENERICALLY NAMED PIZZA SHOP] stories, and so little time to discuss them. We were all glad though that you had a crush on [NAME REDACTED] and ended up working there. It brought on many years of enjoyment to an otherwise boring town.

    • domingosaurus August 19, 2015 at 1:26 pm #

      Thanks John! I’m glad I did too, and it brought many lasting friendships for me as well, even if some of them I only see when a new Star Wars movie comes out. (Good thing they’re still cranking them out!) 😉

Leave a Reply

AlyZen Moonshadow

The words and works of AlyZen Moonshadow, digital mixed media photography artist, designer, musician, poet, philosopher, mother, muse, Goddess!

Are You Finished Yet?

I like to write about stuff. I usually try to be funny. Take it or leave it.

Michael Rios

Sherlock unlocking the past

anewperspectiveperhaps

This site is about everything from my philosophy on life to the little things that make me laugh. IIt is about living, and breathing, and pausing long enough to take it all in. I hope it makes you laugh, sometimes makes you cry, but always makes you want to come back for another visit. It is your words, and your likes that inspire me to keep writing. And it is through my writing that you have a very large window to my soul. Relax awhile, read, and enjoy!

Be Free 2 Love

Soaring through Life, Love, & Happiness: One story at time.

PotatoPen

That's right! I write!

Forty, c'est Fantastique !

La vie est belle !

Mr Tookles

tee hee

The Dependent Independent

TV, movies, books…rants… just trying to put skills to use.

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Tubularsock

". . . first hand coverage, second hand news"

Elizabeth Conrad

True stories from a recovering asshole.

jenny's lark

the beauty of an ordinary life

Skinny and Single

Single and Over 40 and Not Suicidal About It

BunKaryudo

Lovingly Hand-Crafted Humor Blog

Life After 50

Life at any age can be amazing! We only need to grab hold & experience it!

Lessons from my daughter

Although all doctors agreed she would do nothing.....

lindaseccaspina

remembers the invention of the wheel

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Retro Girl & the Chemo Kid

Superpower: love. Adventures through childhood cancer, grief, healing and happiness.

What Rhymes with Stanza?

Words at rest, words at play

Life and Random Thinking

A old dog CAN blog

Just Fred in Wyo

Just a guy living life. These are my personal words and photos.

Live Laugh RV

Our next Chapter

NestOfSquirrels

Acorns. And scurrying.

The Falling Thoughts

Poems, Poetry Plus Passion

heretherebespiders

blowing through the cobwebs of my mind

Mental Defecation

My mind poops here

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

AlyZen Moonshadow

The words and works of AlyZen Moonshadow, digital mixed media photography artist, designer, musician, poet, philosopher, mother, muse, Goddess!

Are You Finished Yet?

I like to write about stuff. I usually try to be funny. Take it or leave it.

Michael Rios

Sherlock unlocking the past

anewperspectiveperhaps

This site is about everything from my philosophy on life to the little things that make me laugh. IIt is about living, and breathing, and pausing long enough to take it all in. I hope it makes you laugh, sometimes makes you cry, but always makes you want to come back for another visit. It is your words, and your likes that inspire me to keep writing. And it is through my writing that you have a very large window to my soul. Relax awhile, read, and enjoy!

Be Free 2 Love

Soaring through Life, Love, & Happiness: One story at time.

PotatoPen

That's right! I write!

Forty, c'est Fantastique !

La vie est belle !

Mr Tookles

tee hee

The Dependent Independent

TV, movies, books…rants… just trying to put skills to use.

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Tubularsock

". . . first hand coverage, second hand news"

Elizabeth Conrad

True stories from a recovering asshole.

jenny's lark

the beauty of an ordinary life

Skinny and Single

Single and Over 40 and Not Suicidal About It

BunKaryudo

Lovingly Hand-Crafted Humor Blog

Life After 50

Life at any age can be amazing! We only need to grab hold & experience it!

Lessons from my daughter

Although all doctors agreed she would do nothing.....

lindaseccaspina

remembers the invention of the wheel

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Retro Girl & the Chemo Kid

Superpower: love. Adventures through childhood cancer, grief, healing and happiness.

What Rhymes with Stanza?

Words at rest, words at play

Life and Random Thinking

A old dog CAN blog

Just Fred in Wyo

Just a guy living life. These are my personal words and photos.

Live Laugh RV

Our next Chapter

NestOfSquirrels

Acorns. And scurrying.

The Falling Thoughts

Poems, Poetry Plus Passion

heretherebespiders

blowing through the cobwebs of my mind

Mental Defecation

My mind poops here

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

