Another Friday Night and I Ain’t Got No Roddy.*

1 Aug

So I had big plans tonight to write a blog about the Republican party and how it may in fact be the Anti-Christ.  (My logic being that everything the Republican Party stands for (greed, warmongering and intolerance) is the exact opposite of everything Jesus Christ stood for.  (Sharing with your neighbors, peace on Earth, and unconditional tolerance.)

This amazing post was going to be entitled “What Would Jesus Do?  (Not Vote Republican, that’s For Damn Sure.)

buddy-christ

You know, the usual paranoid psuedo-political drivel that nobody really gives a shit about..  Blah Blah Blah.

For the record I had no plans to get into a religious debate.  My arguments stand apart from whether you believe in Jesus as the son of God, God himself come to Earth in human form, a human being who happened to be a Jewish carpenter and lived and died during the heyday of the Roman Empire while preaching his own gospel, or a fictional character from a book of fairy tales   (Whichever you think, it doesn’t matter.)

My blog was going to contain this image, which I cobbled together myself some time ago out of other images I google searched.  I assure you it was going to be quite relevant to the post. (And it’s also hilarious.  Well…kind of.  It’s also kind of terrifying.)

pow trump

As often happens, my original plans are being put aside for now to express my deep sadness at the loss of another icon from my childhood.  (Which is, of course, far more important than any “political” or “religious” diatribe.)

“Rowdy” Roddy Piper has died.

rowdy-roddy-piper-i-change-the-questions

This guy…was fucking GREAT!!!  He was an artist, an athlete and an actor, all rolled into one.  When he was a wrestling heel he made people hate him, and oh how they hated him.  And then he moved onto bigger and better things, and we realized, very quickly, that his life as the hated enemy of Hulk Hogan was all just a put on.  It was meant to entertain us, and entertain us it did.

He moved on to save the entire human race from extinction from evil alien infiltrators, which only he could see.  Suddenly he was no longer the heel but the beloved hero!

Piper_Surprise

This is from the movie “They Live.” If you’re a horror buff and you’ve never seen it, you’re not really a horror buff and therefore you suck.

Piper was at the Motor City Comicon this year, and so was I.  I could have met him, but I didn’t.  Now I will never be able to.  (Which means I suck.)

When I was a kid, which happened to be during the 80’s, for a brief period of time I was really into wrestling.  I don’t follow it anymore and haven’t for many decades, but as the legends of those days are swiftly fading into memory, (Andre the Giant, Junk Yard Dog, Dusty Rhodes, Randy Macho Man Savage, and now Rowdy Roddy Piper, not to mention many many more) a little bit of my childhood dies with each one.  Roddy was one of my favorites though, and it just doesn’t seem possible that his time on this planet should be over.

I could probably write a much better tribute if I wasn’t sitting here getting completely shit-faced in my sadness over his loss, so it’s probably just about time I wrapped this up.

RIP Rowdy Roddy Piper.  You will be greatly missed.

rowdy-roddy-piper-dui

* Fuck you Cat Stevens.  (Or whoever wrote that song before you covered it.  Ok actually I really like that song, but fuck you anyway Cat Stevens.) 

6 Responses to “Another Friday Night and I Ain’t Got No Roddy.*”

  1. Carrie Rubin August 1, 2015 at 2:39 am #

    Do I dare admit I don’t know who Roddy Piper is? But I do know who Donald Trump is. Unfortunately.

    • domingosaurus August 1, 2015 at 2:47 am #

      Roddy Piper was an entertainer, and a damned good one, but nothing more. Trump on the other hand, may be entertaining to a certain degree, (if like me, you enjoy bad jokes, but is also terrifying.)

      • Carrie Rubin August 1, 2015 at 2:51 am #

        He certainly makes political news more exciting. In a scary circus kind of way.

      • domingosaurus August 1, 2015 at 2:54 am #

        I was, at one time, really hoping he’d get the nomination, because I figured there’s no WAY he’d take the election, but then again I think there are a lot of really stupid people out there…so…

      • Carrie Rubin August 1, 2015 at 2:57 am #

        I thought the same. I’m still holding out hope it will turn into a Palin thing. Love at first sight but quickly extinguished.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. August. I came. I saw. I kicked its ass! | Not Necessarily About Dinosaurs or Anything Else - August 31, 2015

    […] Another Friday Night and I Ain’t Got No Roddy […]

Leave a Reply

AlyZen Moonshadow

The words and works of AlyZen Moonshadow, digital mixed media photography artist, designer, musician, poet, philosopher, mother, muse, Goddess!

Are You Finished Yet?

I like to write about stuff. I usually try to be funny. Take it or leave it.

Michael Rios

Sherlock unlocking the past

anewperspectiveperhaps

This site is about everything from my philosophy on life to the little things that make me laugh. IIt is about living, and breathing, and pausing long enough to take it all in. I hope it makes you laugh, sometimes makes you cry, but always makes you want to come back for another visit. It is your words, and your likes that inspire me to keep writing. And it is through my writing that you have a very large window to my soul. Relax awhile, read, and enjoy!

Be Free 2 Love

Soaring through Life, Love, & Happiness: One story at time.

PotatoPen

That's right! I write!

Forty, c'est Fantastique !

La vie est belle !

Mr Tookles

tee hee

The Dependent Independent

TV, movies, books…rants… just trying to put skills to use.

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Tubularsock

". . . first hand coverage, second hand news"

Elizabeth Conrad

True stories from a recovering asshole.

jenny's lark

the beauty of an ordinary life

Skinny and Single

Single and Over 40 and Not Suicidal About It

BunKaryudo

Lovingly Hand-Crafted Humor Blog

Life After 50

Life at any age can be amazing! We only need to grab hold & experience it!

Lessons from my daughter

Although all doctors agreed she would do nothing.....

lindaseccaspina

remembers the invention of the wheel

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Retro Girl & the Chemo Kid

Superpower: love. Adventures through childhood cancer, grief, healing and happiness.

What Rhymes with Stanza?

Words at rest, words at play

Life and Random Thinking

A old dog CAN blog

Fred in Wyo

Just living

Live Laugh RV

Our next Chapter

NestOfSquirrels

Acorns. And scurrying.

The Falling Thoughts

Poems, Poetry Plus Passion

heretherebespiders

blowing through the cobwebs of my mind

Mental Defecation

My mind poops here

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

AlyZen Moonshadow

The words and works of AlyZen Moonshadow, digital mixed media photography artist, designer, musician, poet, philosopher, mother, muse, Goddess!

Are You Finished Yet?

I like to write about stuff. I usually try to be funny. Take it or leave it.

Michael Rios

Sherlock unlocking the past

anewperspectiveperhaps

This site is about everything from my philosophy on life to the little things that make me laugh. IIt is about living, and breathing, and pausing long enough to take it all in. I hope it makes you laugh, sometimes makes you cry, but always makes you want to come back for another visit. It is your words, and your likes that inspire me to keep writing. And it is through my writing that you have a very large window to my soul. Relax awhile, read, and enjoy!

Be Free 2 Love

Soaring through Life, Love, & Happiness: One story at time.

PotatoPen

That's right! I write!

Forty, c'est Fantastique !

La vie est belle !

Mr Tookles

tee hee

The Dependent Independent

TV, movies, books…rants… just trying to put skills to use.

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Tubularsock

". . . first hand coverage, second hand news"

Elizabeth Conrad

True stories from a recovering asshole.

jenny's lark

the beauty of an ordinary life

Skinny and Single

Single and Over 40 and Not Suicidal About It

BunKaryudo

Lovingly Hand-Crafted Humor Blog

Life After 50

Life at any age can be amazing! We only need to grab hold & experience it!

Lessons from my daughter

Although all doctors agreed she would do nothing.....

lindaseccaspina

remembers the invention of the wheel

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Retro Girl & the Chemo Kid

Superpower: love. Adventures through childhood cancer, grief, healing and happiness.

What Rhymes with Stanza?

Words at rest, words at play

Life and Random Thinking

A old dog CAN blog

Fred in Wyo

Just living

Live Laugh RV

Our next Chapter

NestOfSquirrels

Acorns. And scurrying.

The Falling Thoughts

Poems, Poetry Plus Passion

heretherebespiders

blowing through the cobwebs of my mind

Mental Defecation

My mind poops here

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

