Another Saturday Night and I Ain’t Got Nobody

2 Aug

“I got in town a month ago.  I’ve seen a lot of girls, since then.  If I can meet em I can get em, but yet I haven’t met em, that’s how I’m in the state I’m in.”

I’ll have to check my records, but this may in fact be the first time I’ve posted a blog two nights in a row since I started up this thing over two years ago.  (I’m a lazy SOB.  Some times.  Other times not so much.)

The title of this blog is also eerily similar to last night’s blog post, and is meant as an explanatory note to any of my three or four readers who may have stumbled across it. Here is a brief timeline that will explain everything.

March 1st, 1964:  Sam Cooke releases the album Ain’t That Good News, which contains the song Another Saturday Night. (And I ain’t Got Nobody.)   It’s a great song.

MTE1ODA0OTcxNTk1MjM2ODc3

Sam Cooke.  He is dead.  The way he died was totally fucking FUCKED.

November 28th 1973:  I am born.

165131_780415733754_138227_n

Yup. I was born ugly and I’ve been losing ground ever since.  At the time of this writing, I am not yet dead.

Sometime In 1974: Cat Stevens releases a cover of the song, and in fact this is the version I myself am most familiar with.  An interesting side note is I don’t usually like covers, but I think because this was the version I heard first and grew up with, it is actually still my favorite version.  (No disrespect meant for the late great Sam Cooke.  After all he wrote the song, and he was an extremely talented singer/ songwriter.  Plus the way he died….Holy shit, the way…he…died. I may have to write a whole blog just about that.)

cat-stevens

Cat Stevens. He is not yet dead.

The 80’s.  Professional wrestling is HUGE, especially WWF.  I briefly became a big fan, and as a kid it would have been hard not to be.  It was all over the television, and back then we only had 3 or 4 channels to choose from.  There were also toys, cereals, magazines, and a Saturday morning cartoon program called Hulk Hogan’s Rock n’ Wrestling.  One of my favorite bad guys was “Rowdy” Roddy Piper.  He wore a kilt and a hot rod shirt, and came to the ring with bagpipe accompaniment.  He was a “heel” (or bad guy) and would employ all manner of mean tricks in the ring to win his matches.  He was wildly entertaining, and even if you hated the guy, you couldn’t help loving the guy.

rowdy-roddy-piper_display_image

“Rowdy” Roddy Piper.  He is dead.

May 16th, 2015:  I attend the Motor City Comicon.  (As usual, I dress up like Hunter S Thompson for this outing.)  “Rowdy” Roddy Piper was there, and so were a bunch of people wearing his famous Hot Rod T-Shirt.  I considered meeting him, but I didn’t really have a lot of money with me, so I figured, maybe next time.  That…was a mistake.

Here I am with my friend Rachel, outside the Comicon.  She and her boyfriend were awesome enough to drive me to the event, since I have no car.

Here I am with my friend Rachel, outside the Comicon. (Rachel’s the one dressed as Tank Girl) She and her boyfriend were awesome enough to drive me to the event, since I have no car. At the time of this writing, neither of us is dead.

July 31st, 2015:  “Rowdy” Roddy Piper dies of cardiac arrest at the tender age of 61.  I come across this news in the midst of simultaneously writing a blog, working on a silly paint shop project, reading blogs, consuming booze, listening to music, messing around on Facebook and occasionally taking a break to play Galaga.  (I have a short attention span, and therefore must always be multitasking if I want to get anything done.  Otherwise I sometimes just end up sitting and staring at nothing. For hours.)

The blog I was writing quickly jumped track from a political rant to a sort of homage to Piper.  While I was writing it, the song “Another Saturday Night” (The Cat Stevens version) popped up on my iTunes and gave me a brilliant idea for the title of my blog.  Since it was Friday night and not Saturday night, the title didn’t really work that well, but I felt I still deserved congratulations for my hilarious wordplay.

You could have waited one more day Piper.  One. More. Day.  (Once a heel, always a heel.)

Technically I posted the blog July 31st, but apparently WordPress begins it’s day 4 hours ahead of me, which by my estimation puts it somewhere in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean, so it came out dated August 1st.  In any event as I plan to post this on August 2cnd, that gives me a golden opportunity to embark on a daring challenge to myself.  I hereby announce my intentions to post a blog every day for the month of August.   Stay tuned to find out how spectacularly I end up failing at this endeavor.   

11 Responses to “Another Saturday Night and I Ain’t Got Nobody”

  1. Agent Beetle August 2, 2015 at 12:28 am #

    I have to say that cover songs are mostly lame. BUT if the band turns it into their own version, and not exactly copy the original, I like. Therefore, if you’re going to do a cover, make it your own style. Don’t try to get rich from re-making a song in the same matter it was to begin with; i.e. Tiffany – I Think We’re Alone Now.

    • domingosaurus August 2, 2015 at 12:40 am #

      I thought the cover was “I think I’m a Clone Now.” by Weird Al Yankovic. Who the fuck is “Tiffany?”

      • Agent Beetle August 3, 2015 at 9:46 pm #

        That red head teen from the 80’s that did a cover of the old song “I Think We’re Alone Now.” She mostly toured malls, and had lots of teen girl fans.

      • Agent Beetle August 3, 2015 at 9:48 pm #

        Also, Weird Al does parody versions of pop sings, not covers.

      • domingosaurus August 3, 2015 at 9:49 pm #

        Yeah yeah…

  2. rarasaur August 2, 2015 at 1:13 am #

    The post title still counts as brilliant. Multitasking is necessary. And… every day in August? You’ve got this. 🙂 I have faith, and I will be reading.

  3. aisaalbiruni August 10, 2015 at 1:43 pm #

    i’ll reading,,,, 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Another Saturday Night and I Ain’t Got Nobody | Not Necessarily About Dinosaurs or Anything Else - August 2, 2015

    […] Another Saturday Night and I Ain’t Got Nobody. […]

  2. August. I came. I saw. I kicked its ass! | Not Necessarily About Dinosaurs or Anything Else - August 31, 2015

    […] Another Saturday Night and I Ain’t Got Nobody […]

Leave a Reply

AlyZen Moonshadow

The words and works of AlyZen Moonshadow, digital mixed media photography artist, designer, musician, poet, philosopher, mother, muse, Goddess!

Are You Finished Yet?

I like to write about stuff. I usually try to be funny. Take it or leave it.

Michael Rios

Sherlock unlocking the past

anewperspectiveperhaps

This site is about everything from my philosophy on life to the little things that make me laugh. IIt is about living, and breathing, and pausing long enough to take it all in. I hope it makes you laugh, sometimes makes you cry, but always makes you want to come back for another visit. It is your words, and your likes that inspire me to keep writing. And it is through my writing that you have a very large window to my soul. Relax awhile, read, and enjoy!

Be Free 2 Love

Soaring through Life, Love, & Happiness: One story at time.

PotatoPen

That's right! I write!

Forty, c'est Fantastique !

La vie est belle !

Mr Tookles

tee hee

The Dependent Independent

TV, movies, books…rants… just trying to put skills to use.

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Tubularsock

". . . first hand coverage, second hand news"

Elizabeth Conrad

True stories from a recovering asshole.

jenny's lark

the beauty of an ordinary life

Skinny and Single

Single and Over 40 and Not Suicidal About It

BunKaryudo

Lovingly Hand-Crafted Humor Blog

Life After 50

Life at any age can be amazing! We only need to grab hold & experience it!

Lessons from my daughter

Although all doctors agreed she would do nothing.....

lindaseccaspina

remembers the invention of the wheel

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Retro Girl & the Chemo Kid

Superpower: love. Adventures through childhood cancer, grief, healing and happiness.

What Rhymes with Stanza?

Words at rest, words at play

Life and Random Thinking

A old dog CAN blog

Fred in Wyo

I enjoy making photographs and putting words together

Live Laugh RV

Our next Chapter

NestOfSquirrels

Acorns. And scurrying.

The Falling Thoughts

Poems, Poetry Plus Passion

heretherebespiders

blowing through the cobwebs of my mind

Mental Defecation

My mind poops here

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

AlyZen Moonshadow

The words and works of AlyZen Moonshadow, digital mixed media photography artist, designer, musician, poet, philosopher, mother, muse, Goddess!

Are You Finished Yet?

I like to write about stuff. I usually try to be funny. Take it or leave it.

Michael Rios

Sherlock unlocking the past

anewperspectiveperhaps

This site is about everything from my philosophy on life to the little things that make me laugh. IIt is about living, and breathing, and pausing long enough to take it all in. I hope it makes you laugh, sometimes makes you cry, but always makes you want to come back for another visit. It is your words, and your likes that inspire me to keep writing. And it is through my writing that you have a very large window to my soul. Relax awhile, read, and enjoy!

Be Free 2 Love

Soaring through Life, Love, & Happiness: One story at time.

PotatoPen

That's right! I write!

Forty, c'est Fantastique !

La vie est belle !

Mr Tookles

tee hee

The Dependent Independent

TV, movies, books…rants… just trying to put skills to use.

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Tubularsock

". . . first hand coverage, second hand news"

Elizabeth Conrad

True stories from a recovering asshole.

jenny's lark

the beauty of an ordinary life

Skinny and Single

Single and Over 40 and Not Suicidal About It

BunKaryudo

Lovingly Hand-Crafted Humor Blog

Life After 50

Life at any age can be amazing! We only need to grab hold & experience it!

Lessons from my daughter

Although all doctors agreed she would do nothing.....

lindaseccaspina

remembers the invention of the wheel

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Retro Girl & the Chemo Kid

Superpower: love. Adventures through childhood cancer, grief, healing and happiness.

What Rhymes with Stanza?

Words at rest, words at play

Life and Random Thinking

A old dog CAN blog

Fred in Wyo

I enjoy making photographs and putting words together

Live Laugh RV

Our next Chapter

NestOfSquirrels

Acorns. And scurrying.

The Falling Thoughts

Poems, Poetry Plus Passion

heretherebespiders

blowing through the cobwebs of my mind

Mental Defecation

My mind poops here

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

