These Are a Few Of My Favorite Things

12 Aug

Anybody who has been in my apartment knows I like things.  Brightly colored things.  Plastic things. Nostalgic things.  I’m not really a hoarder though.  Can’t you see how organized I am?

1391610_10101211249757874_1165781959_n

I’m cutting myself a break tonight.  I’ve had a long day of working, visiting with my brother, listening to an Ice Cube’s Greatest Hits CD I didn’t even realize I had, making lasagna, and making (and eating) a couple burgers.  (The lasagna is for work tomorrow.)

So tonight’s post is going to simply be a Show and Tell of some of my coolest stuff.  There will almost certainly be more posts like this in the future.  If you can’t get down with that, go write your own damn blog.

First up, this is every episode ever made of Seinfeld, one of the greatest comedy series ever created.  It still holds up to the test of time some 500 years later.  Even the infamous final episode, when viewed in context, isn’t as bad as you remember.

600503_10100529436387334_1621335542_n

A refrigerator almost completely covered in brightly colored fridge magnets.  This is an older picture.  The magnets are slightly more scarce now, as my cats have eaten several.

524868_10100494944579194_1036714572_n

The Betty Page Action Playset.  This fun filled extravaganza of mirth and mayhem can provide hours of enjoyment for kids and adults of all ages.

431966_10100527950235594_1148843680_n

My favorite book of all time.  When I have accumulated enough copies, I plan to get rid of everything else I own, and line the walls of my empty apartment with stacks and stacks of it, of varying height, creating a rough approximation of 1940’s New York City, from the perspective of Central Park.  (I don’t know why, but this has been a life long dream of mine. If you have any copies of this book you’d like to contribute to the realization of my lifelong dream, I will happily accept them.)

168843_10100495041659644_1384677319_n

These glass grapes actually belonged to my grandma.  She collected weird and interesting things, with which the house I grew up in was lavishly decorated.  I think I inherited some of my love for bizarre kitsch from her. (I also inherited the grapes.)

382525_10100529434835444_1525417028_n

My lunch bag.  I actually use it to transport my lunches to work with me, on the very rare occasions when I take the time to make a lunch that is.  (It could be one of the many reasons why I’m still a virgin.)   Note the cape, and secret compartment, which happens to be perfect for Little Debbie’s cakes and the like.  (Does your lunchbox have a cape?  Didn’t…think…so.)

 428916_10100574149147604_90911714_n

  A Stephen King POP-UP book!  (The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon)  This might actually be my favorite thing ever.  Certainly it is one of the best yard sale finds I’ve ever made.  I think I paid 75 cents for it.

555689_10100527947256564_308634889_n

Some Things.  (See what I did there?)

579894_10100494943501354_1334501845_n

And last, but not least.  The Bob and Doug Action Playset.  It may not be as sexy as the Betty Page Action Playset, but it certainly has a lot more fun accessories, like several beer cases, some donuts, a grill, some little tiny bottles of beer, and even a couple beer caps which, believe it or not, after owning this particular item for about 20 years…I still have!

603057_10100494946285774_1721964235_n

All right now take off you hosers.

8 Responses to “These Are a Few Of My Favorite Things”

  1. NotAPunkRocker August 12, 2015 at 8:40 pm #

    Love your collections, but I think the glass grapes are the best. I remember my grandparents had glass pear and apple ashtrays; I wish I knew where those went :-/

    • domingosaurus August 12, 2015 at 8:43 pm #

      They just don’t make cool weird stuff like that any more. Now everything has to be all “Justin Bieber this” and “Myley Cryus that.” Totally disgustipating. Sometimes I think I was born into the wrong era.

  2. ahjfasdfh August 14, 2015 at 2:32 pm #

    The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon is among my top three fav King books! I have a hardcover (very rare thing in my book collection), but a motha-fuckin-pop-up!!!! Now THAT sure is SOMETHING!

    • domingosaurus August 14, 2015 at 5:33 pm #

      I know right? Just think if you were someone I actually knew in person, I could maybe let you borrow it! 😉

      • nniiccoollee August 14, 2015 at 5:49 pm #

        You doooo know me

      • domingosaurus August 14, 2015 at 5:53 pm #

        LOL! I kinda figured that out immediately. (I’m not always as dumb as I look.)

  3. Sarah August 18, 2015 at 5:31 pm #

    I own three copies of catcher in the rye, as it is my fave book of allte and I also own a thing of glass grapes which used to be my grandmas. Weird.

Leave a Reply

AlyZen Moonshadow

The words and works of AlyZen Moonshadow, digital mixed media photography artist, designer, musician, poet, philosopher, mother, muse, Goddess!

Are You Finished Yet?

I like to write about stuff. I usually try to be funny. Take it or leave it.

Michael Rios

Sherlock unlocking the past

anewperspectiveperhaps

This site is about everything from my philosophy on life to the little things that make me laugh. IIt is about living, and breathing, and pausing long enough to take it all in. I hope it makes you laugh, sometimes makes you cry, but always makes you want to come back for another visit. It is your words, and your likes that inspire me to keep writing. And it is through my writing that you have a very large window to my soul. Relax awhile, read, and enjoy!

Be Free 2 Love

Soaring through Life, Love, & Happiness: One story at time.

PotatoPen

That's right! I write!

Forty, c'est Fantastique !

La vie est belle !

Mr Tookles

tee hee

The Dependent Independent

TV, movies, books…rants… just trying to put skills to use.

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Tubularsock

". . . first hand coverage, second hand news"

Elizabeth Conrad

True stories from a recovering asshole.

jenny's lark

the beauty of an ordinary life

Skinny and Single

Single and Over 40 and Not Suicidal About It

BunKaryudo

Lovingly Hand-Crafted Humor Blog

Life After 50

Life at any age can be amazing! We only need to grab hold & experience it!

Lessons from my daughter

Although all doctors agreed she would do nothing.....

lindaseccaspina

remembers the invention of the wheel

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Retro Girl & the Chemo Kid

Superpower: love. Adventures through childhood cancer, grief, healing and happiness.

What Rhymes with Stanza?

Words at rest, words at play

Life and Random Thinking

A old dog CAN blog

Just Fred in Wyo

Just a guy living life. These are my personal words and photos.

Live Laugh RV

Our next Chapter

NestOfSquirrels

Acorns. And scurrying.

The Falling Thoughts

Poems, Poetry Plus Passion

heretherebespiders

blowing through the cobwebs of my mind

Mental Defecation

My mind poops here

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

AlyZen Moonshadow

The words and works of AlyZen Moonshadow, digital mixed media photography artist, designer, musician, poet, philosopher, mother, muse, Goddess!

Are You Finished Yet?

I like to write about stuff. I usually try to be funny. Take it or leave it.

Michael Rios

Sherlock unlocking the past

anewperspectiveperhaps

This site is about everything from my philosophy on life to the little things that make me laugh. IIt is about living, and breathing, and pausing long enough to take it all in. I hope it makes you laugh, sometimes makes you cry, but always makes you want to come back for another visit. It is your words, and your likes that inspire me to keep writing. And it is through my writing that you have a very large window to my soul. Relax awhile, read, and enjoy!

Be Free 2 Love

Soaring through Life, Love, & Happiness: One story at time.

PotatoPen

That's right! I write!

Forty, c'est Fantastique !

La vie est belle !

Mr Tookles

tee hee

The Dependent Independent

TV, movies, books…rants… just trying to put skills to use.

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Tubularsock

". . . first hand coverage, second hand news"

Elizabeth Conrad

True stories from a recovering asshole.

jenny's lark

the beauty of an ordinary life

Skinny and Single

Single and Over 40 and Not Suicidal About It

BunKaryudo

Lovingly Hand-Crafted Humor Blog

Life After 50

Life at any age can be amazing! We only need to grab hold & experience it!

Lessons from my daughter

Although all doctors agreed she would do nothing.....

lindaseccaspina

remembers the invention of the wheel

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Retro Girl & the Chemo Kid

Superpower: love. Adventures through childhood cancer, grief, healing and happiness.

What Rhymes with Stanza?

Words at rest, words at play

Life and Random Thinking

A old dog CAN blog

Just Fred in Wyo

Just a guy living life. These are my personal words and photos.

Live Laugh RV

Our next Chapter

NestOfSquirrels

Acorns. And scurrying.

The Falling Thoughts

Poems, Poetry Plus Passion

heretherebespiders

blowing through the cobwebs of my mind

Mental Defecation

My mind poops here

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

