Now Commencing: “The Vacation of 100 Beers”

14 Aug

So first of all, you may be thinking that I fucked up my “Blog A Day Challenge,” but no;  it’s still August 14th.  (My last entry was posted on August 13th.)   I’ve been so far ahead of the game I actually left a little loophole in there for myself to almost skip an entire day, without missing a post! (That’s some Albert Einstein shit right there.) Now, I would have posted a blog last night, but “someone” (Nicole) wanted me to go out for “A Drink” (3 Long Island Iced Teas, A Gin and Tonic and a Rum and Coke)  Alas, after the fun filled bar outing there was to be no blogging.  In fact I went directly to bed, and somehow managed to get up and go to work at 4:00 this morning.  (I don’t even use an alarm if you can believe that.  I just wake up.  Doesn’t even matter how much alcohol I’ve consumed.  This can actually be a problem, because sometimes I don’t have to wake up that early, and yet I still do.  Every.  Fucking.  Day.)

schonberg-booze-therapy

My work day today was a different sort of trip all together.  Melancholy, fun, exciting, sad.  It was all of those things.  It was my last full day at the Maple Rd. Plum Market, a place I have worked for 6 and a half years.  It may not sound like much to some people, but it is, by far, the longest I have worked anywhere in my life, and I have absolutely LOVED working there. Mostly it’s because I love the people I work with, but I also really sincerely enjoy doing my job.   For the entire time I’ve been at Plum, and most of the time I was at my previous job (A place called Bello Vino) I have been a buyer, which is, in many ways, the perfect job for me.  Being a buyer involves a lot of different things, such as talking to vendors, using bizarre electronic ordering devices, talking to people on the phone, throwing stock, merchandising product (which is not the same as stocking, by the way) ,messing around on computers, and of course a certain amount of goofing off (which is, of course, a requirement of every job, otherwise what’s the point?)  Basically it all boils down to this:  I get to spend a bunch of someone else’s money!   (And that’s awesome.)

Plum_Market_Ann_Arbor_Michigan

I’m actually still going to be working for the same company, but at a different location, (still being constructed at the time of this writing,) and in an exciting new capacity, and in a couple of months many of the same people I’ve enjoyed working with all these years will be joining me there, but that is sometime in the future, and in the meantime I will be hanging out in that big scary vacant building all by myself.   (Which actually might be kind of cool in a “Risky Business” sort of way. (Cue Bob Seger music)

08874321b5dbef5a525498189ee72711

Credit for this joke goes to Jeff Maeder.

But first, I have something far more important to worry about.  I must utilize the rest of my glorious paid vacation days.  For almost ten full days, starting right now, I do not have to report to a workplace!

Well, almost.  I actually do have to go in Sunday morning for a short two hour shift, to send out my last order as a beverage buyer, and also to finalize any instructions I have for the lucky bastards who are going to have to try to  fill in behind me.  But that’s what I like to call my “pajama shift.”  I stroll on in the door around 6:00 am, and when the store is actually opening for business two hours later, I stroll on out the door, and this time it will be into a full WEEK of welcome oblivion.  (I call it the “pajama shift” because I could literally report to work in my pajamas if I wanted to, and nobody would care.

I’m probably not going to, but the point is I could.  Probably.  Get away with it.

ralphies-bunny-suit-pajamas-from-aunt-clara-1

A picture of what I wish was me, in what I wish was my pajamas. If I had this, you could bet your ass I would wear it to work on Sunday morning.

So now at long last we come to the explanation for the title of this blog.  My one major goal for this vacation (Or Stay-Cation, if you will) is to consume, before I return to work, 100 cans of beer. (at least)  And I don’t mean 100 different kinds of beer.   That’s the kind of thing a “Hipster” would do. I’m talking PABST!  BLUE!  RIBBON!!!  (It comes in 30 packs, which means I’m probably going to end up actually drinking more like 120 beers.)

hyyy

“FUCK that SHIT!!! PABST! BLUE! RIBBON!!!!” -Frank Booth

So if this blog seems a little hurried and a little less full of my usual spirit it’s only because I’m trying to make sure I get it posted before that dreaded deadline comes around, but after tonight I figure I’m pretty much in the clear.  Over the course of the next ten days I promise many varied and exciting posts as I visit previously unexplored new frontiers of Ann Arbor, such as the natural history museum, which I plan to do sometime next week, all the nature trails that encompass the entire area, a VERY drunk viewing of the new Fantastic Four movie (I don’t care how bad everyone says it is, I still have to see it for myself) hopefully some lunch outings with good friends, and maybe (just maybe) a couple games of tennis, which I may or may not engage in while heavily intoxicated.

john-mcenroe-02

But most importantly, I will keep you up to date on the number of beers I have so far consumed, using this handy infographic, with which I shall close out each and every post, regardless of the subject matter therein.

pbr count

Cut me some slack.  The night is still young.

7 Responses to “Now Commencing: “The Vacation of 100 Beers””

  1. nniiccoollee August 14, 2015 at 10:52 pm #

    You’re drunk.

    “Over the course of the nest ten days I promise many varied and exciting posts….

    I found a typo. I want my 10 points (and $2).

    • domingosaurus August 14, 2015 at 11:04 pm #

      You got it, paper boy. (A Lannister always pays his debts.)

    • domingosaurus August 14, 2015 at 11:05 pm #

      (And I’m fixing that by the way. Blee Dat.)

  2. Agent Beetle August 14, 2015 at 11:07 pm #

    PRB! Punk Rock Beer!

  3. NotAPunkRocker August 17, 2015 at 1:41 pm #

    I am finding reading your posts out of order still make a good deal of sense. And I’m sober. 😀

    • domingosaurus August 17, 2015 at 1:42 pm #

      Thanks! I’m finding writing them out of order works pretty well too! 😉 (aaaaand, I’m not…entirely…sober.)

Leave a Reply

AlyZen Moonshadow

The words and works of AlyZen Moonshadow, digital mixed media photography artist, designer, musician, poet, philosopher, mother, muse, Goddess!

Are You Finished Yet?

I like to write about stuff. I usually try to be funny. Take it or leave it.

Michael Rios

Sherlock unlocking the past

anewperspectiveperhaps

This site is about everything from my philosophy on life to the little things that make me laugh. IIt is about living, and breathing, and pausing long enough to take it all in. I hope it makes you laugh, sometimes makes you cry, but always makes you want to come back for another visit. It is your words, and your likes that inspire me to keep writing. And it is through my writing that you have a very large window to my soul. Relax awhile, read, and enjoy!

Be Free 2 Love

Soaring through Life, Love, & Happiness: One story at time.

PotatoPen

That's right! I write!

Forty, c'est Fantastique !

La vie est belle !

Mr Tookles

tee hee

The Dependent Independent

TV, movies, books…rants… just trying to put skills to use.

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Tubularsock

". . . first hand coverage, second hand news"

Elizabeth Conrad

True stories from a recovering asshole.

jenny's lark

the beauty of an ordinary life

Skinny and Single

Single and Over 40 and Not Suicidal About It

BunKaryudo

Lovingly Hand-Crafted Humor Blog

Life After 50

Life at any age can be amazing! We only need to grab hold & experience it!

Lessons from my daughter

Although all doctors agreed she would do nothing.....

lindaseccaspina

remembers the invention of the wheel

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Retro Girl & the Chemo Kid

Superpower: love. Adventures through childhood cancer, grief, healing and happiness.

What Rhymes with Stanza?

Words at rest, words at play

Life and Random Thinking

A old dog CAN blog

Just Fred in Wyo

Just a guy living life. These are my personal words and photos.

Live Laugh RV

Our next Chapter

NestOfSquirrels

Acorns. And scurrying.

The Falling Thoughts

Poems, Poetry Plus Passion

heretherebespiders

blowing through the cobwebs of my mind

Mental Defecation

My mind poops here

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

AlyZen Moonshadow

The words and works of AlyZen Moonshadow, digital mixed media photography artist, designer, musician, poet, philosopher, mother, muse, Goddess!

Are You Finished Yet?

I like to write about stuff. I usually try to be funny. Take it or leave it.

Michael Rios

Sherlock unlocking the past

anewperspectiveperhaps

This site is about everything from my philosophy on life to the little things that make me laugh. IIt is about living, and breathing, and pausing long enough to take it all in. I hope it makes you laugh, sometimes makes you cry, but always makes you want to come back for another visit. It is your words, and your likes that inspire me to keep writing. And it is through my writing that you have a very large window to my soul. Relax awhile, read, and enjoy!

Be Free 2 Love

Soaring through Life, Love, & Happiness: One story at time.

PotatoPen

That's right! I write!

Forty, c'est Fantastique !

La vie est belle !

Mr Tookles

tee hee

The Dependent Independent

TV, movies, books…rants… just trying to put skills to use.

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Tubularsock

". . . first hand coverage, second hand news"

Elizabeth Conrad

True stories from a recovering asshole.

jenny's lark

the beauty of an ordinary life

Skinny and Single

Single and Over 40 and Not Suicidal About It

BunKaryudo

Lovingly Hand-Crafted Humor Blog

Life After 50

Life at any age can be amazing! We only need to grab hold & experience it!

Lessons from my daughter

Although all doctors agreed she would do nothing.....

lindaseccaspina

remembers the invention of the wheel

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Retro Girl & the Chemo Kid

Superpower: love. Adventures through childhood cancer, grief, healing and happiness.

What Rhymes with Stanza?

Words at rest, words at play

Life and Random Thinking

A old dog CAN blog

Just Fred in Wyo

Just a guy living life. These are my personal words and photos.

Live Laugh RV

Our next Chapter

NestOfSquirrels

Acorns. And scurrying.

The Falling Thoughts

Poems, Poetry Plus Passion

heretherebespiders

blowing through the cobwebs of my mind

Mental Defecation

My mind poops here

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

