The Road to 100 Intersects with the Road to 1000

18 Aug

I hit a milestone moment yesterday.  I purchased my 1000th CD!  (If you missed yesterday’s post, it was ZZ Top, Eliminator.)  This is a goal I’ve been working on for a long time now.

001

My illustrious CD collection. And futon. And some other stuff. (I built the shelves myself, by the way, and they’re modular, meaning I can add more shelves into it as my collection grows. I’m kind of handy sometimes!)

As you may have guessed by now, I like to collect things.  Many people wonder why someone would collect CDs when music can be downloaded digitally.  To me, that’s not collecting at all.  If I don’t have a physical object that I can hold in my hands, then I don’t really own it.  Sure, most of the music I buy ends up on my computer, so I can access it and put songs on my iPod,   (Which is actually something I thought I would never do at one point.)  but sometimes looking through a list of songs on a screen just isn’t the same as looking through a shelf full of CDs.

I used to be really into collecting vinyl, and I still appreciate that hobby, but I’ve long since given it up.  There’s 3 reasons for this.  First is, sadly, I just don’t take good care of records.  It’s a fact.  If friends are over and there’s drinking (and stuff) going on and I’m drunkenly DJ ing through all my favorite tunes, there’s a good chance there’s going to be a bunch of exposed record albums lying all over the apartment the next day.  (Some of my record collecting friends, if they’re reading this, probably just shit their pants)  Second is I haven’t had a working record player in years, and third, and most importantly, records are fucking HEAVY.  I used to have 2000 or so, and I moved them several times.  That was enough to make me want to give up on records.  I still have a couple hundred that I just don’t want to part with.

BrokenRecords1

I find CDs to be much more easy to manage, plus they’re pretty damn versatile.  Lots of folks probably consider them out dated but hey, they still work.

All right let’s get down to brass tacks. I actually intend for this to be a shorter, more visual based post, so it’s time to move on to the pictures.  I know you’re all dying to find out just what sort of stuff I have in my collection right?  Well come on in and check it out.  I’d be willing to bet I have a little something for almost everyone.

First of all I’ve got your classic rock.

002

I’ve got your classic Rap:

003

I’ve got your classic Punk Rock:

008

There’s some bands I like so much, I have almost everything they’ve ever done.  Like Public Enemy.

004

And The Butthole Surfers.  (One of my all time favorites, AND the first band I went to see live, that wasn’t with my parents.)

010

I’ve got a bunch of stuff that played on the radio when I was little, that I didn’t realize was as awesome as it is, and now that I’m older, I’ve learned to love:

014

I’ve got some great live albums:  Queen Live Killers and that Marvin Gaye Live disk are particularly amazing.  Both of these I used to own on vinyl (maybe still do)  The Marvin Gaye one has an 11 or 12 minute track called “Fossil Medley,” where he blazes through a medley of a ton of his early hits.  It’s seriously one of my favorite things ever.  And Queen.  Fucking Queen.  If there was one band I could go back in time and see live, that I couldn’t see today, it would be Queen.  No contest.

006

I’ve got all the stuff I used to listen to when I was in high school, and shortly thereafter.  (I guess I was sort of part of the “Alternateen Crowd.”  I never really felt like I fit in though, but I guess that was what being part of the “Alternateen Crowd” was all about, in retrospect.  Many of these discs I’ve purchased more than once, but had to sell off when I needed money or was just under the delusion that I wanted to become a minimalist.  Thankfully,  my life has stabilized enough in my later years that selling my stuff so I can eat hasn’t been necessary for a long time, and I’ve had the good sense to realize I am never…never going to be a minimalist.

011

I’ve got discs I like so much I bought extra copies of them!  (Never intentionally, truth be told.  Funny story, I was really excited when I picked up the Robert Palmer one at a thrift store when I was hanging out with my friend Starr.  I was super bummed when I realized later on, after she’d dropped me off, that I’d left it in her car.  I got it back from her a couple days later, and only then, when I went to file it into my collection, did I discover I ALREADY HAD IT!!!  I have absolutely no memory of acquiring it.  I’m almost convinced someone just snuck it into my collection as a joke, which is something I myself would probably do.)

005

I’ve even got a few “country” discs, arguably my least favorite type of music in general, though some of this old school stuff is great. (And is Johnny Cash even really country?  I kind of like to think of him as Classic Rock.)

009

And I have a ton of just weird random oddball stuff.  The real marrow of my collection.  (I’m not sure what that means exactly.  I just came up with it.)

015

So there you have it.  There’s a ton of stuff I have that is not pictured, of course but who would really want to look at pictures of 1000 CDs?  I’m sure some people might argue with some of my classifications, but those people most likely don’t have opinions I care about, and I’ve got beer to drink.

beer count vertical

Oh yeah, and I have to go take care of all these fucking CDs now too.  (This post suddenly seems like a stupid idea.)

016

14 Responses to “The Road to 100 Intersects with the Road to 1000”

  1. Carrie Rubin August 18, 2015 at 2:43 am #

    That’s an impressive collection, both in volume and in range. It’s been a long time since I’ve listened to my CDs. It’s all iTunes for me now. This post makes me want to revisit them. Blow off the dust that’s covering them. Hmm, I think I’ll start with Garbage. Or maybe GreenDay.

    • domingosaurus August 18, 2015 at 2:44 am #

      I like both those bands, and do in fact have some in my collection. (I guess I neglected the G’s!)

  2. BunKaryudo August 18, 2015 at 5:07 pm #

    A lot of people consider CDs dated? Really? Looks like there really is no hope for me. I was just beginning to get the hang of them.

    • domingosaurus August 18, 2015 at 5:18 pm #

      I knoooooow. I still have all my old mix tapes too. (I plan to use them for an upcoming blog as well.)

      • BunKaryudo August 18, 2015 at 5:27 pm #

        Look forward to reading it.

  3. Sarah August 18, 2015 at 5:11 pm #

    I’ve owned the entire beastie boys collection four times, so I feel ya about multiple purchases. I like your blog a lot.

    • domingosaurus August 18, 2015 at 5:21 pm #

      Ahhhh Beastie Boys. I have pretty much everything except Hot Sauce Committee Part Two (which I’ve never owned) and Across the Five Burroughs (Which I did have for awhile, but actually wasn’t a huge fan of, though I do plan to recollect it at some point, since I’m kind of a completest, (with some bands anyway.)

  4. irenedesign2011 August 18, 2015 at 7:48 pm #

    You have a lot of great music like Queen, Joe Cocker etc etc 😀
    I appreciate my CD’s too.

    • domingosaurus August 18, 2015 at 7:52 pm #

      Ironically I bought that Joe Cocker disc only a couple days before he passed away! I brought it into work with me and we listened to it in it’s entirety, in his honor, the next day. It’s a great example of his live performances.

      • irenedesign2011 August 18, 2015 at 8:01 pm #

        Yes it is, I have had that CD for some years now and heard it few days ago.

  5. NotAPunkRocker August 18, 2015 at 8:19 pm #

    My collection is very similar to your, right on down to old-school country being the only acceptable version of that genre (and even then, in limited amounts).

    The ipod jack in my car, which was a big deal back in 2006 and standard now it seems, stopped working. I ended up buying a bunch of blank CDs to burn from my computer (long story, but I lost custody of the actual CDs)…but get this…they look like little vinyl records. Circle of life kind of thing! 😀

    • domingosaurus August 18, 2015 at 8:23 pm #

      I’ve seen that style of blank CD, and have a couple myself!. They’re my favorite! I also saw someone had an iPod that looked like a blank cassette tape…..I think. I may have just unintentionally made that up. (I do that sometimes.)

  6. theipc August 19, 2015 at 2:44 pm #

    I like your taste in music!

Leave a Reply

AlyZen Moonshadow

The words and works of AlyZen Moonshadow, digital mixed media photography artist, designer, musician, poet, philosopher, mother, muse, Goddess!

Are You Finished Yet?

I like to write about stuff. I usually try to be funny. Take it or leave it.

Michael's Origins

Sherlock unlocking the past

anewperspectiveperhaps

This site is about everything from my philosophy on life to the little things that make me laugh. IIt is about living, and breathing, and pausing long enough to take it all in. I hope it makes you laugh, sometimes makes you cry, but always makes you want to come back for another visit. It is your words, and your likes that inspire me to keep writing. And it is through my writing that you have a very large window to my soul. Relax awhile, read, and enjoy!

Be Free 2 Love

Soaring through Life, Love, & Happiness: One story at time.

PotatoPen

That's right! I write!

Forty, c'est Fantastique !

La vie est belle !

Mr Tookles

tee hee

The Dependent Independent

TV, movies, books…rants… just trying to put skills to use.

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Tubularsock

". . . first hand coverage, second hand news"

Elizabeth Conrad

True stories from a recovering asshole.

jenny's lark

the beauty of an ordinary life

Skinny and Single

Single and Over 40 and Not Suicidal About It

BunKaryudo

Lovingly Hand-Crafted Humor Blog

Life After 50

Life at any age can be amazing! We only need to grab hold & experience it!

Lessons from my daughter

Although all doctors agreed she would do nothing.....

lindaseccaspina

remembers the invention of the wheel

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Ram On

Soon, Right Away, Right Away

Retro Girl & the Chemo Kid

Superpower: love. Adventures through childhood cancer, grief, healing and happiness.

What Rhymes with Stanza?

Words at rest, words at play

Life and Random Thinking

A old dog CAN blog

Just Fred in Wyo

Just a guy living life in Wyoming. These are my personal words and photos.

Live Laugh RV

Our next Chapter

NestOfSquirrels

Acorns. And scurrying.

The Falling Thoughts

Poems, Poetry Plus Passion

heretherebespiders

blowing through the cobwebs of my mind

Mental Defecation

My mind poops here

AlyZen Moonshadow

The words and works of AlyZen Moonshadow, digital mixed media photography artist, designer, musician, poet, philosopher, mother, muse, Goddess!

Are You Finished Yet?

I like to write about stuff. I usually try to be funny. Take it or leave it.

Michael's Origins

Sherlock unlocking the past

anewperspectiveperhaps

This site is about everything from my philosophy on life to the little things that make me laugh. IIt is about living, and breathing, and pausing long enough to take it all in. I hope it makes you laugh, sometimes makes you cry, but always makes you want to come back for another visit. It is your words, and your likes that inspire me to keep writing. And it is through my writing that you have a very large window to my soul. Relax awhile, read, and enjoy!

Be Free 2 Love

Soaring through Life, Love, & Happiness: One story at time.

PotatoPen

That's right! I write!

Forty, c'est Fantastique !

La vie est belle !

Mr Tookles

tee hee

The Dependent Independent

TV, movies, books…rants… just trying to put skills to use.

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Tubularsock

". . . first hand coverage, second hand news"

Elizabeth Conrad

True stories from a recovering asshole.

jenny's lark

the beauty of an ordinary life

Skinny and Single

Single and Over 40 and Not Suicidal About It

BunKaryudo

Lovingly Hand-Crafted Humor Blog

Life After 50

Life at any age can be amazing! We only need to grab hold & experience it!

Lessons from my daughter

Although all doctors agreed she would do nothing.....

lindaseccaspina

remembers the invention of the wheel

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Ram On

Soon, Right Away, Right Away

Retro Girl & the Chemo Kid

Superpower: love. Adventures through childhood cancer, grief, healing and happiness.

What Rhymes with Stanza?

Words at rest, words at play

Life and Random Thinking

A old dog CAN blog

Just Fred in Wyo

Just a guy living life in Wyoming. These are my personal words and photos.

Live Laugh RV

Our next Chapter

NestOfSquirrels

Acorns. And scurrying.

The Falling Thoughts

Poems, Poetry Plus Passion

heretherebespiders

blowing through the cobwebs of my mind

Mental Defecation

My mind poops here

