Not Necessarily NOT About Dinosaurs. (Or Anything Else.)

22 Aug

First off, for those of you anxiously awaiting the exciting conclusion of my “Cedar Point Chronicles” you’re just gonna have to wait one more day for it.  (Maybe even two.)  The thing is…something momentous happened today, and I absolutely have to write about it.  (And no I did not finally get laid.)  What I did do, however, after literally YEARS of procrastination, was take a nice leisurely stroll from my apartment all the way down to the University of Michigan Natural History Museum, (a grueling journey of about 35 minutes) and I did so mostly to check out the dinosaurs. That’s right; DINOSAURS!  (Remember the name of my blog, and my blogging handle? Yeah?…Do ya?… YEAH?)

001

The Entryway to Prehistoric Amazement.

Before I take you into this incredible place with me, let me give you some background.  When I was a kid, in case you hadn’t figured it out by now, I was kind of into dinosaurs. Now I know exactly what you’re thinking:  Everyone was into dinosaurs when they were a kid!  (And you’re right) Here’s the thing though I am, and always have been, downright obsessive about the things I get into.  In fact I had myself, and everyone else, thorougholy convinced I was going to be a Paleontologist when I grew up, and to be honest I still haven’t completely given up on that dream. Plus my family encouraged this (and any other crazy notion I came up with, because you know what, I had a great fucking family.)

In addition to a great family I had all these books about dinosaurs! (And many more that I was unable to google search. In fact I still have a lot of them, but it turned out to be way easier to google search them than to actually physically dig them all out, assemble them, and photograph them.  Thank you once again Oh Great and Wondrous Internet!)

Publication1

I had toys.  Mostly in the form of these little red green and yellow plastic dinosaurs that came in a bag which could be purchased from the “toy aisle” of any local grocery store. I absolutely loved these things, and my mom would buy them for me pretty much any time we went there, (because, truth be told, I was a spoiled little shit) yet somehow I don’t currently have any of these early, simple dinosaur toys in my collection!  (which is a situation I would like to remedy someday soon.)

ztimdinoa

Another thing my mom bought me, and more than once I might add, was this specific coloring book.  For some reason I REALLY loved this particular one, and must have completely colored it in at least three times.  Mom was always willing to buy me another copy, usually accompanied with a fresh box of crayolas.  Oh that delicious smell!!!  (The smell of Paleontology.) Dinosaurs1As if all the preceding encouragements weren’t enough, back then we had this incredible special effects extravaganza, right on our television sets, called The Land of the Lost.  (And no it did not have Will Ferrel in it.)

0720-lotlpit

Marshall, Will and Holly, on a routine expedition…(ok I’ll stop now.)

One magical day my Aunt Jeanine took me and a few of my cousins to Ann Arbor, a place I’d never been, to visit the University of Michigan Natural History Museum, or as I like to call it (to this day) “The Dinosaur Museum.”  This took place, by my estimation,  about 34 years ago which would have placed me at around 7 years of age.  It was a simply wondrous day, so much so that it cemented itself in my memory throughout my entire life thus far. On that glorious day I saw real life dinosaur bones, a ton of cool dioramas. (and I mean for REAL dioramas.) and my aunt even bought me an actual Dinosaur fossil from the gift shop!  (It’s an Apatosaurus claw, and I still have it somewhere.)

But perhaps the most exciting part of the day was after we’d left the museum, and Aunt Jeanine was walking us through downtown Ann Arbor, seeking a lunch place.  I was kind of terrified, wondering what sorts of bizarre cuisine my rather fancy-lad Aunt might be preparing to subject us to, when suddenly we rounded an unexpected corner, and there, in the midst of all these weird restaurants with names I couldn’t pronounce, was the comforting sight of the Golden Arches! (In stained glass window form)

window0015

This is in fact the exact stained glass window from the legendary two story downtown Ann Arbor McDonald’s. The restaurant no longer exists, and apparently neither do any pictures of it. But it was real. (I swear on my mom’s box of cremated remains, which are sitting on a shelf in my living room, also occupied by a few dinosaur and Star Wars toys. ) 

And that is all I remember about that glorious day.  So let me bring it all full circle back to this glorious day.  (I promise the vast majority of the rest of the blog will be in picture form.)

I can sum it all up pretty quickly.  The University of Michigan Museum of Natural History fucking ROCKS.  (Check it out.)

017011

024026

012019

010020

033

And of course, if you haven’t figured me out by now, there was no way I was leaving that place without paying a visit to the Museum Gift Shop, where I bought these glow in the dark dinosaurs.  (Because I don’t have nearly enough glow in the dark stuff in my room yet, which you will find out about as soon as I get around to posting the blog entitled “A Tour of My Place.”

003

And THIS: Charles Darwin himself, evolved into plush toy form.  The Patron Saint of Evolutionary Theory.  (I used that joke on my Facebook page already, but I do what I want, just like that honey badger fellow.)

001 (2)

And last but not least, without further ado, is the running beer count.  (I’m rounding the bend.)

beer count vertical

12 Responses to “Not Necessarily NOT About Dinosaurs. (Or Anything Else.)”

  1. susielindau August 22, 2015 at 2:25 pm #

    I hope you didn’t drink all those beers in one sitting… whoa… 🙂
    Now you’ve got me wanting to visit Denver’s Natural History Museum. I haven’t been since my kids were young.
    Thanks for stopping by the party! Have fun HOPPING!

    • domingosaurus August 22, 2015 at 2:37 pm #

      HAHA! No way I’m not that hardcore! I’ve been on vacation for the last week, and announced, at the beginning of it, that I would consume 100 cans of PBR before it was over. (I’ve been posting that handy infographic at the bottom of each day’s post, recording my progress!)

  2. barbtaub August 22, 2015 at 4:12 pm #

    Whew! I was a bit worried about the beer count too. Susie sent me over from her Hop, and I’m so glad I came. Love the Dinosaurs and explanation behind them. Your blog is hilarious.

    • domingosaurus August 22, 2015 at 4:16 pm #

      Thank you! I’ll be sure to check out yours a little later today! 🙂

  3. Maggie C August 22, 2015 at 10:13 pm #

    I was excited about the giant prehistoric hedgehogs, but then I enlarged the picture and saw that they are some kind of underwater thing. Probably not amphibious hollow quilled hedgehogs after all. But great post in spite of that.

    • domingosaurus August 22, 2015 at 10:15 pm #

      Thanks! I’m sure there’s giant prehistoric hedgehogs in that place somewhere. Next time I go (which will be soon I think) I’ll make sure to snap a pic just for you!

      • Maggie C August 23, 2015 at 12:14 am #

        That would be great! I can add it to my hedgehog collection. Could you somehow make it glow in the dark?

      • domingosaurus August 23, 2015 at 12:16 am #

        I’ll see what I can do! 😉

  4. Fred August 23, 2015 at 2:26 pm #

    Good stuff…I like the humor you use in your writing. That’s quite the summation and endorsement of the history museum!

    • domingosaurus August 23, 2015 at 6:40 pm #

      Thank you! I can’t wait to check out more of your awesome photography!

  5. Anonymous January 24, 2017 at 1:24 am #

    Yes, the mcdonald’s did exist
    1979 newspaper photo of McDonald's on Maynard Street, Ann Arbor, winner of 1978 Michigan masonry award.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. August. I came. I saw. I kicked its ass! | Not Necessarily About Dinosaurs or Anything Else - August 31, 2015

    […] Not Necessarily NOT About Dinosaurs Or Anything Else […]

Leave a Reply

AlyZen Moonshadow

The words and works of AlyZen Moonshadow, digital mixed media photography artist, designer, musician, poet, philosopher, mother, muse, Goddess!

Are You Finished Yet?

I like to write about stuff. I usually try to be funny. Take it or leave it.

Michael Rios

Sherlock unlocking the past

anewperspectiveperhaps

This site is about everything from my philosophy on life to the little things that make me laugh. IIt is about living, and breathing, and pausing long enough to take it all in. I hope it makes you laugh, sometimes makes you cry, but always makes you want to come back for another visit. It is your words, and your likes that inspire me to keep writing. And it is through my writing that you have a very large window to my soul. Relax awhile, read, and enjoy!

Be Free 2 Love

Soaring through Life, Love, & Happiness: One story at time.

PotatoPen

That's right! I write!

Forty, c'est Fantastique !

La vie est belle !

Mr Tookles

tee hee

The Dependent Independent

TV, movies, books…rants… just trying to put skills to use.

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Tubularsock

". . . first hand coverage, second hand news"

Elizabeth Conrad

True stories from a recovering asshole.

jenny's lark

the beauty of an ordinary life

Skinny and Single

Single and Over 40 and Not Suicidal About It

BunKaryudo

Lovingly Hand-Crafted Humor Blog

Life After 50

Life at any age can be amazing! We only need to grab hold & experience it!

Lessons from my daughter

Although all doctors agreed she would do nothing.....

lindaseccaspina

remembers the invention of the wheel

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Retro Girl & the Chemo Kid

Superpower: love. Adventures through childhood cancer, grief, healing and happiness.

What Rhymes with Stanza?

Words at rest, words at play

Life and Random Thinking

A old dog CAN blog

Fred in Wyo

I enjoy making photographs and putting words together

Live Laugh RV

Our next Chapter

NestOfSquirrels

Acorns. And scurrying.

The Falling Thoughts

Poems, Poetry Plus Passion

heretherebespiders

blowing through the cobwebs of my mind

Mental Defecation

My mind poops here

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

AlyZen Moonshadow

The words and works of AlyZen Moonshadow, digital mixed media photography artist, designer, musician, poet, philosopher, mother, muse, Goddess!

Are You Finished Yet?

I like to write about stuff. I usually try to be funny. Take it or leave it.

Michael Rios

Sherlock unlocking the past

anewperspectiveperhaps

This site is about everything from my philosophy on life to the little things that make me laugh. IIt is about living, and breathing, and pausing long enough to take it all in. I hope it makes you laugh, sometimes makes you cry, but always makes you want to come back for another visit. It is your words, and your likes that inspire me to keep writing. And it is through my writing that you have a very large window to my soul. Relax awhile, read, and enjoy!

Be Free 2 Love

Soaring through Life, Love, & Happiness: One story at time.

PotatoPen

That's right! I write!

Forty, c'est Fantastique !

La vie est belle !

Mr Tookles

tee hee

The Dependent Independent

TV, movies, books…rants… just trying to put skills to use.

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Tubularsock

". . . first hand coverage, second hand news"

Elizabeth Conrad

True stories from a recovering asshole.

jenny's lark

the beauty of an ordinary life

Skinny and Single

Single and Over 40 and Not Suicidal About It

BunKaryudo

Lovingly Hand-Crafted Humor Blog

Life After 50

Life at any age can be amazing! We only need to grab hold & experience it!

Lessons from my daughter

Although all doctors agreed she would do nothing.....

lindaseccaspina

remembers the invention of the wheel

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Retro Girl & the Chemo Kid

Superpower: love. Adventures through childhood cancer, grief, healing and happiness.

What Rhymes with Stanza?

Words at rest, words at play

Life and Random Thinking

A old dog CAN blog

Fred in Wyo

I enjoy making photographs and putting words together

Live Laugh RV

Our next Chapter

NestOfSquirrels

Acorns. And scurrying.

The Falling Thoughts

Poems, Poetry Plus Passion

heretherebespiders

blowing through the cobwebs of my mind

Mental Defecation

My mind poops here

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

