Want to Help Me Take My Beer Cans Back? (Great.)

26 Aug

I had been back to work from my vacation now for two full days yet I still had all these beer cans hanging out.  I figured it was time to haul them over to the grocery store and cash them in.

1

It was an extraordinarily nice day for August.  Usually the heat and humidity is unbearable, but after a rough week some cool winds had come in and blown all the nastiness away.  Plus it was delightfully overcast, keeping my mortal enemy, the sun, from bearing down on me.  I crossed the street and into the large park across from my apartment complex.

2

Between Two baseball fields.

3

Past this structure where homeless people often camp out.  (I mentioned it before here.)

4

Up this rather imposing hill. (It’s far more imposing in person, I assure you.)

5

And now I have to cross one of the most ridiculous intersections in the entire city, Jackson and Stadium.  I have invented many a new and exciting insult to shout at people as they nearly plow me down with their moron-mobiles.  Usually it’s something unimaginative like “Watch it, Shit For Brains!” but one of my favorites is “Watch it Shit n’ Sniff!”  (A “Shit n’ Sniff” is a person so scummy they like to smell their own fingers after every butt wiping.  It is also used to denote anyone in my way, at any given time.)  (For the most hilarious story ever about me almost getting run over by a scumbag driving an moron-mobile, click here.)

6

After making it to safety, I continue down the sidewalk.

7

And at long last, after a perilous journey I arrive at the plaza that houses my usual grocery store of choice.  (It also houses Westgate Animal Clinic, where I recently took Vader the Cat for fixing. They were very nice there, and I highly recommend them.)

8

I arrive at the entrance to the store.  As usual, there is a slow moving person in my way.  (Everywhere I go, there are slow moving people in my way.)

9

And now the time has come to dispose of the evidence of my vacation.

10

And what the hell is this sorcery?  Diet Coke!  Whaaaaaaat???

11

Ka-CHING!  (Michigan is one of the few places where we get 10 cents for our bottle and can returns.  Now before any of you out-of-staters get any wise ideas about hauling all your 5 cent cans and bottles here to cash in big time, just remember it didn’t work out so well for Kramer and Newman, in one of the most celebrated episodes of Seinfeld ever made.)

12

Then I walked into the store, and began the tedious task of trying to decide what I wanted to prepare for dinner.  Suddenly, after the grueling hike and the laborious task of putting all those cans and bottles through the recycling machine, cooking seemed like a chore best left for another day.  Still, I don’t want to be “The Guy That Just Came in to Return Bottles.”

13

…so I checked out the toy aisle, but nothing there struck my fancy.

14

So I bought a bottle of Coke and a bag of Skittles, cashed in my slips, and headed out the door.  Here is what I had achieved for all my troubles.

15

And I made my way out of the parking lot.

16

Across a not so busy street.

17

And down the hill towards Stadium, where all of Ann Arbor’s finest cuisine is located in one action packed area!  For instance, Cottage Inn Pizza.  (Not in the mood.)

19

Mickey DEEEEEE’S!!!  (Nope.)

20

Taco Bell.  (I already indulged in “Taco Tuesday” at work, so probably not…)

22

Subway?  Not today…

21

Ahhhh, now we’re talking.  Burger King.  Good ole reliable Burger King. (The king of burgers.)

23

I made my usual Burger King dinner choices, put it in my backpack, and prepared to make the long lonesome journey back to my abode, through hill…

24

and dale…

25

Across that busy intersection once again.

27

And back into the welcoming wilderness known as Vet’s Park.

28

A short detour takes us up to the top of the hill…

040

Where one can find one of my favorite views in the entire city.

041

In fact I like this shot so much, a couple years ago I started a project in which I was going to take the same picture every day for a year.  Like most things I do, I only made it about two thirds of the way through before I got bored.  But, seeing as how I’ve taken the pic again, maybe now is as good a time as any to start anew, especially since the one season I didn’t manage to capture was Fall, which is ironically my favorite time of year!

Publication1

Down the hill and back through the passageway between two big baseball fields.

042

Across the street  and through the trees.

043

Where I find a welcome and familiar sight.

044

And inside to find my cats, very happy to see me.  Get a room you two!!!

049

Bon Appetit!

050

8 Responses to “Want to Help Me Take My Beer Cans Back? (Great.)”

  1. heretherebespiders August 26, 2015 at 7:40 pm #

    You didn’t buy any more beer? Be first on my list! I wish we got something for all the cans I go through, other than liver failure. We have to take them to a bottle-bank as our biweekly recycling pick up won’t take cans or bottles.
    It gets messy! But I don’t have to walk, at least.
    Your view over the seasons is pretty cool, you should pick that back up again.

    • domingosaurus August 26, 2015 at 7:53 pm #

      There’s a party store much closer to my apartment. If I’m gonna lug beer back home, it’s from there. (Plus I’m really more of a Liquor Enthusiast, truth be told.)

      • heretherebespiders August 26, 2015 at 8:06 pm #

        Oh I’m a beer gal. Finding PBR here is a rarity, too! We drank the hell out of it last time we were in the states, just for the craic.

      • domingosaurus August 26, 2015 at 8:35 pm #

        I just like getting drunk. I don’t really care all that much how I do it. I’ll even drink wine once in awhile if I have no other options available. But, as the say..”Liquor is Quicker!” 😉

      • heretherebespiders August 26, 2015 at 8:39 pm #

        Blecch, wine. I would rather be sober. I KNOW. Crazy, right?
        I was thinking – it doesn’t say much good about your neighbourhood that the liquor store is closer than the grocery store!

      • domingosaurus August 26, 2015 at 8:44 pm #

        True, but almost anywhere in Ann Arbor one is never more than about a hundred yards from a liquor store. (Might have something to do with an anomaly called “U of M Football.” (Speaking of “Blecch.”)

      • heretherebespiders August 26, 2015 at 8:46 pm #

        Oh right, college ball. Yawn. I guess if I’d bothered to go to a college with a team I might care. But likely not. So are you surrounded by student housing, too?

      • domingosaurus August 26, 2015 at 8:51 pm #

        I live on the outskirts of town, so not as much if I lived closer to campus, but students are everywhere. Plus there are other colleges here too. Eastern Michigan University, Washtenaw Community College, and one or two of those “religious” places. In spite of my usual griping, it’s actually a really nice place to live. Except on “Game Days.” On those I try not to leave my apartment. (And I make sure I have plenty of booze before hand, because the whole town is likely to get bought out.)

Leave a Reply

AlyZen Moonshadow

The words and works of AlyZen Moonshadow, digital mixed media photography artist, designer, musician, poet, philosopher, mother, muse, Goddess!

Are You Finished Yet?

I like to write about stuff. I usually try to be funny. Take it or leave it.

Michael's Origins

Sherlock unlocking the past

anewperspectiveperhaps

This site is about everything from my philosophy on life to the little things that make me laugh. IIt is about living, and breathing, and pausing long enough to take it all in. I hope it makes you laugh, sometimes makes you cry, but always makes you want to come back for another visit. It is your words, and your likes that inspire me to keep writing. And it is through my writing that you have a very large window to my soul. Relax awhile, read, and enjoy!

Be Free 2 Love

Soaring through Life, Love, & Happiness: One story at time.

PotatoPen

That's right! I write!

Forty, c'est Fantastique !

La vie est belle !

Mr Tookles

tee hee

The Dependent Independent

TV, movies, books…rants… just trying to put skills to use.

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Tubularsock

". . . first hand coverage, second hand news"

Elizabeth Conrad

True stories from a recovering asshole.

jenny's lark

the beauty of an ordinary life

Skinny and Single

Single and Over 40 and Not Suicidal About It

BunKaryudo

Lovingly Hand-Crafted Humor Blog

Life After 50

Life at any age can be amazing! We only need to grab hold & experience it!

Lessons from my daughter

Although all doctors agreed she would do nothing.....

lindaseccaspina

remembers the invention of the wheel

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Ram On

Soon, Right Away, Right Away

Retro Girl & the Chemo Kid

Superpower: love. Adventures through childhood cancer, grief, healing and happiness.

What Rhymes with Stanza?

Words at rest, words at play

Life and Random Thinking

A old dog CAN blog

Just Fred in Wyo

Just a guy living life in Wyoming. These are my personal words and photos.

Live Laugh RV

Our next Chapter

NestOfSquirrels

Acorns. And scurrying.

The Falling Thoughts

Poems, Poetry Plus Passion

heretherebespiders

blowing through the cobwebs of my mind

Mental Defecation

My mind poops here

AlyZen Moonshadow

The words and works of AlyZen Moonshadow, digital mixed media photography artist, designer, musician, poet, philosopher, mother, muse, Goddess!

Are You Finished Yet?

I like to write about stuff. I usually try to be funny. Take it or leave it.

Michael's Origins

Sherlock unlocking the past

anewperspectiveperhaps

This site is about everything from my philosophy on life to the little things that make me laugh. IIt is about living, and breathing, and pausing long enough to take it all in. I hope it makes you laugh, sometimes makes you cry, but always makes you want to come back for another visit. It is your words, and your likes that inspire me to keep writing. And it is through my writing that you have a very large window to my soul. Relax awhile, read, and enjoy!

Be Free 2 Love

Soaring through Life, Love, & Happiness: One story at time.

PotatoPen

That's right! I write!

Forty, c'est Fantastique !

La vie est belle !

Mr Tookles

tee hee

The Dependent Independent

TV, movies, books…rants… just trying to put skills to use.

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Tubularsock

". . . first hand coverage, second hand news"

Elizabeth Conrad

True stories from a recovering asshole.

jenny's lark

the beauty of an ordinary life

Skinny and Single

Single and Over 40 and Not Suicidal About It

BunKaryudo

Lovingly Hand-Crafted Humor Blog

Life After 50

Life at any age can be amazing! We only need to grab hold & experience it!

Lessons from my daughter

Although all doctors agreed she would do nothing.....

lindaseccaspina

remembers the invention of the wheel

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Ram On

Soon, Right Away, Right Away

Retro Girl & the Chemo Kid

Superpower: love. Adventures through childhood cancer, grief, healing and happiness.

What Rhymes with Stanza?

Words at rest, words at play

Life and Random Thinking

A old dog CAN blog

Just Fred in Wyo

Just a guy living life in Wyoming. These are my personal words and photos.

Live Laugh RV

Our next Chapter

NestOfSquirrels

Acorns. And scurrying.

The Falling Thoughts

Poems, Poetry Plus Passion

heretherebespiders

blowing through the cobwebs of my mind

Mental Defecation

My mind poops here

